Home Chess

Anand, Vidit, Hari, Adhiban, Humpy and Harika make it to the Indian team for FIDE Nations Cup

The FIDE chess.com online nation cup will start on 5th May 2020, All six teams have disclosed their participants. While only four players will fight in each round, each team will have 1 Captain and 6 players. India has the likes of Anand, Vidit, Hari, Adhiban, Humpy and Harika, you know they can beat the best in business. Hou Yifan is making comeback to the China team. The USA has all their best. Russia as always is a tough nut to bang. Team Europe with MVL, Aronia and Giri seem tough while we can’t underestimate the team Rest of the world with Radjabov, Firouzja and co.

The Chinese team, winner of a historic double gold in the last chess Olympiad will be on top of FIDE Chess.com Online Nations Cup which will be held on May 5-10.
China with the average of 2717 is leading by Europe (2687), Russia (2662), USA (2641), India (2605) and the “Rest of the World” team (2597).


India will be directed by the legendary Vishwanathan Anand, 50, is still one among the top 15 players in the world. India is producing young chess miracles than other country but the young Indian is not ready yet to make it into the national team: the generational changeover will have to wait a bit more.

Advisor to the team: Vladimir Kramnik

  • Viswanathan Anand
  • Vidit Gujrathi
  • Pentala Harikrishna
  • Humpy Koneru
  • Adhiban Baskaran
  • Harika Dronavalli


The Chinese team is headed by Ding Liren and Wang Hao, the world’s number three and twelve respectively. The main news is Hou Yifan’s come back to the Chinese national team. He is a four-time world champion, are a former prodigy and the youngest female player ever to achieve the Grandmaster title.

Captain: Ye Jiangchuan

  • Ding Liren
  • Wang Hao
  • Wei Yi
  • Hou Yifan
  • Yu Yangyi
  • Ju Wenjun


The European team will be led by Maxime Vachier-Lagrave from France. The multiple-time world champion Garry Kasparov, who dictated the world chess for two decades and put his career end in 2005. His presence in the event even as a caption will surprise the chess fans across the world.

Captain: Garry Kasparov

  • Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
  • Levon Aronian
  • Anish Giri
  • Anna Muzychuk
  • Jan-Krzysztof Duda
  • Nana Dzagnidze


Russia no longer dominates the chess world as it once did, but even with the absence of some important players -like Alexander Grischuk and Kateryna Largo- the Russian team cannot be ruled out as a possible winner.

Captain: Alexander Motylev

  • Ian Nepomniachtchi
  • Vladislav Artemiev
  • Sergey Karjakin
  • Aleksandra Goryachkina
  • Dmitry Andreikin
  • Olga Girya

Unites States of America

The USA, winner of the 2016 Olympiad gives rise to the competition all their top guns, starting with the world’s number two Fabiano Caruana. The team is attained with two proficient female player- Irina Krush and Anna Zatonskih.

Captain: John Donaldson

  • Fabiano Caruana
  • Hikaru Nakamura
  • Wesley So
  • Irina Krush
  • Leinier Dominguez Perez
  • Anna Zatonskih

Rest of the World

The “Rest of the World Team” is, as it would be expected, the most colourful, including players from Azerbaijan, Iran, Egypt, Peru, Ukraine, and Kazakhstan. On top of the list, the winner of the 2019 FIDE World Cup, Teimour Radjabov. With him, one of the main attractions of the event, the 16-year-old prodigy from Iran, Alireza Firouzja. The teenager is developing a rivalry with the World Champion Magnus Carlsen that is becoming more and more serious by the day, and probably all eyes will be on him, as he will be taking on some of the very top players in the world during this event.

Captain: Arkady Dvorkovich

  • Teimour Radjabov
  • Alireza Firouzja
  • Bassem Amin
  • Mariya Muzychuk
  • Jorge Cori
  • Dinara Saduakassova

The tournament will be broadcast live across multiple portals including FIDE’s and Chess.com’s own channels, Twitch, Youtube, Mixer, Twitter. The commentary should be done in multiple languages including English, Spanish, Russian, Mandarin, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Turkish and Polish.

The prize money is USD 180,000, the first stage, a double round-robin with six teams will take place on May 5-9. Superfinal will be held on Sunday, May 10 between the top two teams. The games will be played in a rapid format, where only 25 minutes will be given to each player to start the game, plus 10 seconds of extra time added after each move.