Anustup Majumdar to captain Bengal in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy; Mohammed Shami’s brother also a part of squad

Anustup Majumdar will replace Abhimanyu Easwaran who was earlier the captain.

Mohammed Kaif

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) announced the 20-man squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 that will be held later this month. Veteran batsman Anustup Majumdar has been named as the captain for the tournament. He will replace Abhimanyu Easwaran who was earlier the captain.

The vice-captain is Shreevats Goswami who was most recently seen playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Meanwhile, Indian ace pacer Mohammed Shami‘s younger brother and all-rounder Mohammed Kaif has also been named in the squad.

Captaincy change due to ‘burden’ on Easwaran

Anustup Majumdar

The change in captaincy from Abhimanyu Easwaran to Anustup Majumdar has been attributed to the ‘burden of captaincy’ on Easwaran. “CAB president Avishek Dalmiya and Hony Secretary Snehasish Ganguly today spoke to Anustup Majumdar, Shreevats Goswami and Abhimanyu Easwaran and made them aware that the decision taken is only for the length of the tournament in question,” the CAB said in a statement on Thursday.

“The selectors felt that without the burden of captaincy over his head Abhimanyu would be able to play more freely and deliver up to his potential,” added the CAB. The decision has come at a time when Easwaran is struggling with form and his place in the playing XI doesn’t seem guaranteed. His waning average and strike-rate also don’t seem encouraging. But Bengal will hope relieving him of captaincy duties will bring about positive changes.

Also Read: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: WATCH – S Sreesanth breathes fire in warm-up game, stares down batsman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here