Home Badminton

India announces 9-member squad for the upcoming Sudirman Cup; Sindhu, Nehwal, Srikanth, and Praneeth to lead the unit

The Badminton Association of India has announced the Indian squad for the Sudirman Cup 2021. Moreover, trials will be held later this month to select more players who will represent India in Finland.

PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal

Indian athletes delivered a memorable performance at the Tokyo Olympics and made a billion sports frenetics proud. Among the Indian contingent which performed incredibly well at the Olympics were the shuttlers who caught the attention of the badminton fans across the globe.

One of India’s biggest badminton stars PV Sindhu brought home another Olympic medal after winning bronze in the singles category. In fact, she is now the first Indian woman to win two Olympic medals back to back. Now when the Olympic action is over, fans are eagerly waiting for the Sudirman Cup to start where top badminton stars will take on each other.

Sindhu and Nehwal back in action for the Sudirman Cup 2021

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty

The marquee tournament is scheduled to be held from September 26, 2021 to October 3, 2021. The tournament will take place in Vantaa, Finland. The Badminton Association of India announced that team India will comprise two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu and 2012 London Olympic bronze medalist Saina Nehwal.

Along with these two, Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy have also been included. In the men’s section, Sai Praneeth, former World No. 1 Kidambi Srikanth, upcoming young badminton sensation Lakshya Sen and men’s duo of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy have also been named in the squad.

The duo of Satwiksairaj and Chirag impressed everyone after they outclassed top doubles stars in the Tokyo Olympics. Unfortunately, they couldn’t make it to the semi-finals, but their breathtaking performance in the Pool games surely earned them a lot of fans.

Moreover, the BAI will also conduct trials from August 18 to August 22 for singles, and from August 23 to August 27 for doubles in order to select more players who will accompany the nine top badminton stars to Finland. The trials will be held at Gopichand badminton academy.

Also read: Tokyo Olympics 2020: Silver medalist Tai Tzu-Ying left in tears with PV Sindhu’s ‘sincere encouragement’