BCCI appoints Neetu David as head of women’s selection committee

Neetu David, the former left-arm spinner, has been selected to lead the five-member selection committee by the BCCI.

Neetu David

Former India leg-spinner Neetu David has been choosen as the head of the five-member selection committee of the women’s national team announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today.

The other members of the committee are Arati Vaidya, Renu Margrate, Venkatacher Kalpana, and Mithu Mukherjee.

The current committee’s 4-year term ended in March 2020. The committee was headed by Hemlata Kala along with Sudha Shah, Anjali Pendharkar, Shashi Gupta, and Lopamudra Banerjee as the members. The last engagement of the selection committee was of the Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia which India ended as runners-up.

The Board had earlier invited applications for the respective positions earlier this year. “On account of seniority, Neetu David, the former left-arm spinner, will head the five-member committee. She holds the world record for best bowling figures in an innings in a Test for her 8/53 against England Women in the Jamshedpur Test held in 1995. She is also the second-highest wicket-taker for India in WODIs with 141 scalps and was also the first from India to take 100 WODI wickets,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

The Women Selection Committee:

1) Neetu David (10 Tests and 97 WODIs)

2) Arati Vaidya (3 Tests and 6 WODIs)

3) Renu Margrate (5 Tests and 23 WODIs)

4) Venkatacher Kalpana (3 Tests and 8 WODIs)

5) Mithu Mukherjee (4 Tests)

Also Read: IPL 2020: ‘Kolkata batsmen are well prepared to tackle the spin threat of Rashid Khan,’ says Shubhman Gill


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here