BCCI want Virat Kohli to leave ODI captaincy and concentrate on batting – Report

Virat Kohli has led India in 95 One Day games while winning 65 of them with a terrific win percentage of more than 70.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

The Indian cricket team is set to see a new face in the form of Rohit Sharma as the skipper in the shortest format from the New Zealand series onwards. This came after Virat Kohli stepped down as the T20I captain ahead of the ongoing 2021 T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

Meanwhile, as per some recent reports, the Board of Control from Cricket in India (BCCI) wants to relieve Kohli from the One Day International (ODI) leadership role as well. A BCCI official has told NDTV that the apex body wants the 33-year-old to focus on his batting and return to his dominant form.

“The board wants to relieve Kohli of the captaincy burden in limited-overs cricket so that he can focus on his batting and return to his dominant form,” reported NDTV.

“The changes in Team India’s ODI captaincy could be as soon as the bilateral series against South Africa, which begins from January 11, 2022. Rohit Sharma is expected to take over in the 50-over format too, with KL Rahul as his deputy,” claimed the sources further.

Virat Kohli to return in action from 2nd Test against NZ

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

The ‘Modern Master’ has been currently granted rest from the three T20Is and the first Test match in the home tour against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma is all set to begin a new era in Indian cricket while leading the side in 20-over format under the guidance of newly-elected head coach Rahul Dravid

On the other hand, Ajinkya Rahane will lead the team in whites for the inaugural Test before Kohli returns in the ultimate game. The squad for the white-ball matches has been announced and here it is:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, and Mohammed Siraj

Also Read | “My dream has been fulfilled now” – Avesh Khan on maiden national call up for IND vs NZ series

Also Read | “Avesh Khan broke this big news to me” – Venkatesh Iyer on maiden national call up for IND vs NZ series