Harbhajan Singh picks his all-time Test XI; includes two Indian names

One of the greatest Test cricketers of all time - Rahul Dravid failed to capture a spot in Harbhajan Singh's XI.

Harbhajan Singh
Harbhajan Singh

Veteran India spinner Harbhajan Singh has named his all-time best XI in Test cricket. Singh, who is one of the leading wicket-takers in the longer format with over 400 scalps, picked Sir Alastair Cook and Virender Sehwag as the two opening batters.

The offie also went on to call Sehwag as Vivian Richards of modern-day cricket. On the other hand, Cook is the leading run-scorer for England and fifth overall highest run-getter with 12,472 runs in red-ball cricket. At number three, Bhajji named the West Indies legend Brian Lara, who holds the astonishing record of the highest score of 400 runs in a single Test inning.

At number four and five, he picked Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar and Australia’s Steve Waugh. Notably, he also chose the Aussie as the captain of his all-time best Test team.

Kumar Sangakkara dons wicket-keeping gloves in Harbhajan’s team

Kumar Sangakkara
Kumar Sangakkara

One of the greatest wicketkeeper-batters across formats in the history of the game, Kumara Sangakkara will be the man responsible behind the stumps in Singh’s Test XI. He further went with Jacques Kallis as the fast-bowling all-rounder of his fantasy side.

The right-hander went with a combination of three pacers and a spinner in the all-time Test XI. Singh named Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, and James Anderson as the three speedsters in his side. Meanwhile, Shane Warne turned out to be the lone spinner in the Punjab cricketer’s Test team. Interestingly, he picked Muttiah Muralitharan as the 12th man on his side.

Harbhajan Singh’s all-time Test XI: Alastair Cook, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar, Steve Waugh (C), Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara (WK), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, James Anderson, and Muttiah Muralitharan (12th man)

Also Read | BCCI President Sourav Ganguly shares an update on IND vs SA series amidst Omicron emergence