ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Format, Venue, and Groups

This is the first time a cricket World Cup has been staged totally outside of the Test-playing nations.

Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah
Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah with the T20 World Cup

There is a lot of anticipation for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, which is slated to begin on October 17 in Oman and UAE.   The event was originally scheduled to take place in India, but it was moved to the UAE and Oman because of increasing worries over the COVID-19 pandemic scenario.

Despite the fact that the tournament has been relocated from India, the BCCI will continue to host the competition.  Both UAE and Oman will be staging a major ICC tournament for the first time. This is also the first time a cricket World Cup has been staged totally outside of the Test-playing nations.

The competition will include 16 teams, with the ICC introducing a new concept for the mega event. On that note, let’s take a look at the format, venues, and group distribution of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Format

T20 World Cup 2021
T20 World Cup

The tournament is divided into two parts with 16 nations participating in the new ICC T20 World Cup format. Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies are the top 10 ranked teams in the world and have qualified straightaway for the Super 12 stage.

Additionally, Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka will be required to compete in qualifying. They are divided into two groups, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super 12 stage.

The highest-ranked eight teams, as well as the four qualifying sides, will compete in the Super 12 stage, which is split into two groups. The top two finishers from each group will advance to the semi-finals, with the winners advancing to the final scheduled to be played on November 14.

Venue for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Groups

ICC T20 World Cup
ICC T20 World Cup

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands, and Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Oman

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1, and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2, and B1.

Also Read | IND vs SL: “I need to grab this opportunity as I have got this after a long time” – Prithvi Shaw

Also Read | IND vs SL: Sanju Samson recalls the ‘biggest moment’ of his life ahead of the limited-overs series