“Avesh Khan broke this big news to me” – Venkatesh Iyer on maiden national call up for IND vs NZ series

Team India is scheduled to play three T20Is and two Test matches against New Zealand from November 17 onwards.

KER vs MP Dream11
Venkatesh Iyer

Madhya Pradesh and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) all-rounder Venkatesh Iyer recently witnessed a dream-come-true moment when his name was there in the 16-member squad for the Twenty20 International (T20I) series against New Zealand.

The youngster had a terrific IPL season for the Kolkata-based franchise with both, bat and ball. Iyer had amassed 370 runs in 10 matches at an impressive average of 41.11 and scalped three wickets during the team’s run to the final. 

“I am really excited and looking forward to playing under Rohit bhai. He is such a great player. The team looks really strong. I am sure we will perform well and it will be a huge learning experience as well,” Venkatesh Iyer told TOI while reacting to his maiden national call up.

“I am so happy. I worked really hard for it. Honestly, I didn’t expect this. I am really thankful to the selectors, captain, and all my seniors and coaches for this. It is a dream of every cricketer to wear an India jersey someday and the day has come. I am so happy. The words are not enough to describe the feeling. Avesh broke this big news to me,” he added.

“Will fit in whatever role the team would want from me”

Venkatesh Iyer
Venkatesh Iyer

The southpaw further stated that he’s ready to take up whatever role desired by Rohit Sharma and Co.

“I am an all-rounder. I will look forward to fitting in whatever role the team would want from me. I am not thinking about the opposition at the moment. I am just looking forward to performing for my team,” Iyer concluded.

Here is the full Indian squad for the New Zealand series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, and Mohammed Siraj

Also Read | IND vs NZ: “My dream has been fulfilled now” – Avesh Khan on maiden national call up