Home Cricket

“My dream has been fulfilled now” – Avesh Khan on maiden national call up for IND vs NZ series

Team India is scheduled to play three T20Is and two Test matches against New Zealand from November 17 onwards.

Avesh Khan

Madhya Pradesh and Delhi Capitals (DC) speedster Avesh Khan recently witnessed a dream-come-true moment when his name was there in the 16-member squad for the Twenty20 International (T20I) series against New Zealand. The youngster is having a dream run in 2021 as he had a phenomenal season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in the UAE.

Avesh claimed as many as 24 wickets in the recently-concluded edition of the Indian cash-rich league. He also continued with his rich bowling form for his domestic team in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2021 as well. 

The 24-year-old expressed his sheer happiness on receiving the maiden call up from the national side. He said:

“Every cricketer has a dream that he plays for his country and he works hard to turn this dream into a reality. My dream has been fulfilled now,” Avesh was quoted by PTI Bhasha.

Avesh Khan’s father reacts to his son’s selection

Avesh Khan with his parents

In the same media report, Khan’s father was also quoted sharing his earliest memory of the MP cricketer getting into this sport.

“My son first got associated with Indore Colts Cricket Club. Then Amay Khurasiya spotted his talent and took him to his own academy. After that he did not look back,” his father remembered.

Not just the IPL, Avesh Khan has recorded impressive numbers with the ball in the domestic circuit as well. In 27 First-Class matches, he has bagged 100 wickets at an average of 23.42. Moreover, he has 65 wickets in 42 T20 games and 10 scalps in 16 List A matches. 

Here is the full Indian squad for the New Zealand series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, and Mohammed Siraj

Also Read | WATCH – MS Dhoni’s reaction wins hearts as KL Rahul plays a glamorous flick shot against Namibia in T20 World Cup