IND vs SL: ‘Where is Rahul Tewatia?’ – Aakash Chopra unhappy with Rajasthan Royals all-rounder’s exclusion from the Indian squad

Cricketer-turned-commentator Aakash Chopra surprised with Rahul Tewatia's omission and mentioned that there cannot be a greater injustice than dropping someone without playing him.

Aakash Chopra and Rahul Tewatia
Aakash Chopra and Rahul Tewatia

Former India cricketer Aakash Chopra questioned the omission of Rahul Tewatia from the national squad for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) picked a 20-member squad for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka. However, Rajasthan Royals all-rounder Rahul Tewatia, who was there in India’s squad during the T20I series against England, got dropped without getting any chance. 

The cricketer-turned-commentator expressed his shock while mentioning that “there cannot be a greater injustice than dropping someone without playing him”.

“Where is Rahul Tewatia? Because last time when the team was picked, Rahul Tewatia was in the team. He did not play there. There cannot be a greater injustice than dropping someone without playing him.

“When you select someone in the Indian team, his entire family, clan and coaches become happy that the player whom they have invested in since childhood has been selected. You did not give him a chance to fail or succeed and you dropped him,” Aakash Chopra mentioned in a recent video on his Youtube channel.

Chopra questions Krishnappa Gowtham’s selection over Tewatia

The 43-year old also raised questions on the selection of Karnataka’s bowling all-rounder, Krishnappa Gowtham. Chopra highlighted that MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings (CSK) didn’t play him even a single match, yet was preferred over Tewatia for the SL tour.

“He played matches for Rajasthan, his performance was alright, not very good but not very bad as well. Despite that, you have dropped him. What does it tell you? Because where he was picked, Krishnappa Gowtham has been picked now.”

“Krishnappa Gowtham name was not there in the selection last time and it is not that he played a single match of the IPL in between. He was in captain Dhoni’s team but did not play a single match. So that’s a bit of a bizarre thing,” Chopra concluded.

Full Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Also Read | IND vs SL: ‘Jaydev Unadkat and Rahul Tewatia could have been included’ – Deep Dasgupta

Also Read | WTC Final: Harbhajan Singh omits veteran pacer Ishant Sharma’s name in his playing XI