Kane Williamson, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s skipper, was caught by Devdutt Padikkal of Rajasthan Royals, at the slip in the even though the ball had bounced before.
SRH won the toss and opted to bowl first but their decision backfired after RR smashed 210 runs. Chasing this massive run, Kane Williamson’s turn came and in the second over, he edged the ball of Prasidh Krishna. The ball bounced off towards Sanju Samson, who is the wicket-keeper of RR. He failed to catch the ball after diving.
With a single bounce, the ball was caught by an alert Padikkal who dived forward and caught it. The on-field umpire referred the decision to the third umpire. KN Ananthapadmanabhan, the third umpire then signaled that it was a clean catch, and faced a lot of criticism.
Although, Padikkal was confident that the ball didn’t touch the ground, in the replays the ball looked as if it had bounced right in front of his hands before he caught it. The result of the match turned out against SRH as RR hammered them by 61 runs.
Following Kane Williamson’s controversial dismissal, SRH lodged a complain
SRH head coach Tom Moody expressed his surprise and disappointment after Williamson’s dismissal.
After the match, he said: “We were very surprised that it was given out, particularly when we saw the replay. I can understand the on-field umpires taking it upstairs, and when that happened and we saw the evidence. We’re certainly not umpires, but it looked pretty clear to us what the decision was.”
After their bad start to the IPL 2022, SRH lodged a complain about the umpire’s verdict to the BCCI.
“Yes, we’ve written to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The procedure is that the coach has to write and the process has been followed.”
A spokesperson from the management said: “The protest was also mentioned in the captain’s report which is given to the IPL match referee after each game.”