Nurul Hasan and Shakib Al Hasan back in the Bangladesh squad for the tour of Zimbabwe

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan

Bangladesh gave announced their squads on Wednesday for their upcoming tour to Zimbabwe. Wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan have been recalled into the side. Nurul has been added to all three formats joining as a back-up for Mushfiqur Rahim whereas Shakib returns to the Test squad.

Nurul Hasan last featured for Bangladesh way back in 2018 and now has a chance to prove himself in the absence of Rahim, who will rest for the T20I series. Whereas Shakib, who missed out on the last Test series against Sri Lanka in April to participate in the IPL is also back in the Test side and will be the key player for Bangladesh across all formats.

Shamim Hossain has earned his maiden call-up in the T20I squad after helping Bangladesh triumph in the U-19 World Cup last year. Also, leggie Aminul Islam Biplob has been recalled into the T20I squad.

Bangladesh will leave on 29th June and complete the necessary quarantine before the commencement of the series. The all-format series comprises one Test, three ODIs, and as many T20Is which are scheduled to be played from 7th July to 27th July.

Bangladesh squads for Zimbabwe tour:

Bangladesh Cricket Team, Shakib Al Hasan
Bangladesh Cricket Team

Test Squad: Mominul Haque (C), Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

ODI Squad: Tamim Iqbal (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Mithun, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

T20I Squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (C),Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Aminul Islam Biplob, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed

Bangladesh will eye to hold their No.1 position in the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League standings

The three ODIs against Zimbabwe are a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League and Bangladesh will try to maintain a firm grip on the top spot with a series win.

They are currently at the first position with 50 points to their name and a series win against mighty Zimbabwe would give them a superior lead in the standings and also allow them to cement their place for the World Cup.

Also Read | On This Day: MS Dhoni’s men beat England to lift ICC Champions Trophy in 2013

Also Read | ICC Pays Tribute to Former Indian Skipper MS Dhoni; Stuart Broad Leaves Abstruse Comment