Trevor Bayliss named as the Head Coach of Sydney Thunder

Trevor Bayliss will take over as head coach of the Sydney Thunder, replacing Shane Bond, who refused a contract extension.

Trevor Bayliss
Trevor Bayliss
FirstSportz News

Trevor Bayliss has been named Head Coach of the Sydney Thunder on Thursday for the next three KFC Big Bash League seasons.

Bayliss will take over as head coach of the Sydney Thunder, replacing Shane Bond, who refused a contract extension to spend more time with his family. Bayliss, who was born in New South Wales, is looking forward to returning home.

“It’s great to be home and involved in New South Wales cricket,” said Trevor Bayliss as quoted by TOI.

Last season, the Thunder made it to the finals for the first time in three years after winning the title in 2016.

“The Thunder have done well over the last few years.  Hopefully, we can go one or two steps further this summer. To win as many matches as possible and compete in the Final is my number one goal,” added Trevor Bayliss.

Glorious Coaching career of Trevor Bayliss

Trevor Bayliss
Trevor Bayliss

Trevor Bayliss is an accomplished coach with experience in coaching international and franchise T20 squads. As a coach, he had a huge influence on teams and earned a lot of success.

He coached New South Wales to the Sheffield Shield title in his first season as coach in 2004-05. In August 2007, he was named Sri Lanka’s coach, and he steered the team to second place in the Test rankings and the finals of the 2011 World Cup.

Later, he guided the Sydney Sixers to the 2011-12 season title and subsequently the Kolkata Knight Riders to the 2012 and 2014 IPL titles. In May 2015, he was appointed as the head coach of the England men’s team and worked together with Eoin Morgan to carry the country to its first 50-over World Cup victory in 2019.

At present, he serves as the coach for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2021.

Sydney Thunder BBL Squad

Head Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Contracted for BBL 11: Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Usman Khawaja, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain

Also Read: Reliving the best performance of Stuart Binny on his 37th Birthday

Also Read: ‘He makes it look so simple’ – Sunil Gavaskar names one modern-day cricketer he would love to bat like