“Even Cheteshwar Pujara has an IPL trophy now” Fans troll Virat Kohli as CSK wins their fourth IPL title

Despite not contributing anything, Pujara now has an IPL trophy to his name as CSK won IPL 2021.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Chennai Super Kings scripted history at the Dubai International Stadium on Friday as they thrashed Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs to lift their fourth IPL trophy. Amidst all the celebration and congratulatory tweets, Indian skipper Virat Kohli also found himself trending on Twitter.

It might come as a surprise for many but the reason behind Kohli’s sudden trend on social media is India’s Test batter Cheteshwar Pujara. During the IPL 2021 auction, Chennai Super Kings picked Cheteshwar Pujara for his base price of INR 50 lakhs. The right-hander batsman didn’t get to play even a single game for the Super Kings throughout the tournament. 

Despite not contributing anything, Pujara now has an IPL trophy to his name as CSK won IPL 2021. The same fact amused the cricket fanatics to a greater extent as many made it a reason to troll the Indian skipper Virat Kohli. Notably, Virat is yet to lift an IPL trophy. 

Virat Kohli trends on Twitter alongside AB de Villiers

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings

Since the commencement of the Indian Premier League, Virat has been associated with Royal Challengers Bangalore and the franchise is still searching for its maiden title. This year also, the team had hopes of winning their maiden trophy but they lost the Eliminator game to Kolkata Knight Riders.

Thus, the trollers started a trend on Twitter to take a did at the RCB skipper for his inability of winning the T20 trophy. AB de Villiers was also subjected to trolling as despite being two of the best T20 batters, AB and Virat are yet to stamp their authority in the Indian Premier League.

As far as the final between CSK and KKR is concerned, Faf du Plessis again emerged as the hero for the team. The Proteas batter hammered a stunning 86 runs off just 59 balls to steer his team to a 27-run victory. 

Also Read: IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings lift their fourth IPL trophy courtesy 27-run victory over KKR