WATCH: ENG W vs IND W – Shafali Verma smashes five back-to-back boundaries off Katherine Brunt during 2nd T20I

After getting out for a duck against Katherine Brunt in the previous T20I, Shafali Verma went on to smash five consecutive boundaries against the same bowler in the second game.

Shafali Verma
Shafali Verma

Indian women’s team’s flamboyant opening batter Shafali Verma scored five back-to-back fours against England’s veteran medium pacer Katherine Brunt

While batting first, the youngster smashed these runs during the fourth over of the second Twenty20 International (T20I) game of the three-match series at the County Ground in Hove.

Opening with her senior partner Smriti Mandhana, Verma scored her first boundary of the match during the second over off Brunt. Following this, she smashed a four and a six against Sophie Ecclestone in the third over. 

However, she went on to do even better in the following over as she scored five consecutive fours against the English speedster. 

Here’s the full video of Shafali Verma’s fireworks at the Hove:

Twitterati reacts to Verma’s swashbuckling boundaries

Let’s have a look at some of the top tweets from yesterday’s game between India and England:

India level the three-match series 1-1

Indian Women's Cricket Team
Indian Women’s Cricket Team

After losing the inaugural T20I, the Indian eves came back strong in the following game to level the series 1-1. Apart from Verma’s amazing knock of 48 runs, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma also contributed with the bat. As a result, India posted a decent total of 148-4 at the end of their 20 overs.

English opener Tammy Beaumont provided a great start to her side with her half-century at the top. Skipper Heather Knight also played a sensible knock of 30 runs off 28 deliveries before Deepti Sharma ran her out. 

In the end, the hosts fell eight runs short of the target as they could only manage to post 140 runs on the board. Sharma won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for her all-round performance in the game.

The series decider between these two sides will be played on July 14 at the County Ground in Chelmsford.

Also Read | T20 World Cup: Brad Hogg picks India’s playing XI, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma to open

Also Read | “You’re talking about an ICC trophy but Virat Kohli hasn’t even won an IPL yet” – Suresh Raina