“Coronation of the King”: Twitter explodes as Lionel Messi lifts his 7th Ballon d’Or award

Lionel Messi won his Ballon d'Or awards in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and now in 2021 after a tough competition from Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski.

Lionel Messi created history tonight at Paris’ Théâtre du Châtelet as the Argentine magician won his 7th Ballon d’Or award after a tough competition from Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski. Leo Messi was already the owner of the most Ballon d’Or awards in it’s 65 years old history and with this, he now has a clear lead against his nearest competitor Cristiano Ronaldo. With the Portuguese nearing the end of his career, it is only likely that Lionel Messi will end his career with an outstanding record of possessing the most number of Ballon d’Or awards. 

Lionel Messi lifts his 7th Ballon d’Or

FFY7rJsVkAIsHiS - FirstSportz
Lionel Messi giving’s speech after winning his 7th Ballon d’Or award

Tonight’s Gala, however, was not void of controversies as just before it’s commencement, France football announced that they have introduced two completely new awards that will be presented tonight. The two new awards are the Striker of the year and the Best Club of the year awards respectively. Many are of the opinion that this award has been introduced only to come to a middle ground in the Messi vs Lewandowski debate. The Polish striker was presented with the newly introduced award and the fans are calling it a ‘consolation award’. 

Whatever be the case, it opened up Leo Messi’s path for lifting his 8th Ballon d’Or which he did in the most grandeur style, receiving standing ovation from the audience just like the 2019 Ballon d’Or ceremony. 

It was a special moment for the Messi family which could be well understood by their expressions – and why will it not be? Afterall, it’s the annual coronation of the G.O.A.T. 

Among the other awards, Barca Femini captain Alexia Putellas won the Women’s Ballon d’Or, Pedri won the Kopa Trophy, Paris Saint Germain’s Eduardo Mendy won the Yachine Trophy and Chelsea FC won the best club award. 

Let us now see how Twitter reacted to the Ballon d”or 2021 awards. 

Twitter Reactions

Also Read:- Ballon d’Or 2021 live stream: TV Channel, Online Platform to watch Award Ceremony