Premier League Winners List each season from 1992

Take a look into the Premier League winners of all the years under the modern era from 1992.

Premier League Winners

The Premier League or the English Premier League came into existence in the year 1992 and took over as the top level of the English football league system. It was founded on 20th February, 1992 following the English clubs’ decision to breakaway from the initial Football League which used to serve as the first division of England from 1888-1992.

The Premier League is the most popular League in Europe and has extensive coverage all of the world and it boasts of having the best players, managers in the world involved in it. It is the most-watched sports league in the world, broadcasted in 212 territories to 643 million homes and has a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people.

In this article, we take a look at the Premier League winners of the different editions from 1992 up until the recently concluded 2020-21 season.

Manchester United are the Most Successful Club with 13 trophies

Manchester United winning the Premier League
Manchester United winning the League Title

Manchester United have won the Premier League a record 13 times in the new era, which started in the first season of the inception of the league in1992. The Manchester based club have then gone on to win the Premier League on 12 more occasions, which also included two hat-trick of titles in the years  1998-99 to 2000-01 and also in the latter stages of the decade from 2006-07 to 2008-09. Their most recent title came in 2012-13 and the club have since undergone a transformation of sorts which has not enabled them to win a title in the recent years.

Manchester City and Chelsea come in 2nd position with 5 titles each

Manchester City crowned Premier League Champions for 2020-21
Manchester City crowned Champions for 2020-21 season

Manchester City are the current Premier League Champions having won it for the 5th time in the 2020-21 season under the leadership of Pep Guardiola. The club hailing from the other part of Manchester won their first ever Premier League title under Roberto Mancini in 2011-12 in dramatic fashion, with a Sergio Aguero goal in the final minute of the final match of the season. They have won the title in the years- 2013-14, 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2020-21 with the last three coming under the reign of current coach Pep Guardiola.

Chelsea' Premier League winning season in 2016-17
Chelsea’s League winning season in 2016-17

Chelsea also have 5 titles to their name in the recent era, with the first of them coming in the season of 2004-05 under Portuguese manager Jose Mourinho. He also led the Blues to the title next year in 2005-06 and once again in his return spell in 2014-15. Their most recent success in the top flight of English football came in 2016-17 under Antonio Conte.

Arsenal won the Premier League on 3 occasions

Arsenal's Premier League winners
Arsenal’s Premier League winners

The other clubs who have won the Premier League title in the modern era after 1992 are Arsenal who have 3 titles to their name, including the Invincible title in 2003-04 under Arsene Wenger where they created a record of not having lost a single match throughout the season, a record which is still yet to be emulated by another football club in England. They also won in 1997-98 and 2001-02.

Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City and Liverpool won the title once each

Leicester City premier League champions in 2016-17
Leicester City premier League champions in 2016-17

Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City and Liverpool have won the Premier League title only once in their history. Blackburn Rovers won it in the season of 1994-95 under Kenny Dalglish.

Leicester City’s dream run in 2015-16 saw them crowned Premier League champs against all odds probably creating the biggest underdog story in modern football under the tutelage of Italian coach Claudio Ranieri.

Liverpool crowned Premier League champs in 2019-20
Liverpool crowned Premier League champs in 2019-20

Liverpool earned their piece of silverware for the first time after enduring a drought of 30 years where they had failed to win the domestic title by winning it in the 2019-20 season. Jurgen Klopp led the Merseyside club to their first ever Premier League title following a Champions League glory in the previous season.

List of Premier League Winners

2020-21Manchester CityManchester United
2019-20LiverpoolManchester City
2018-19Manchester CityLiverpool
2017–18Manchester CityManchester United
2016–17ChelseaTottenham Hotspur
2015–16Leicester CityArsenal
2014–15ChelseaManchester City
2013–14Manchester CityLiverpool
2012–13Manchester UnitedManchester City
2011–12Manchester CityManchester United
2010–11Manchester UnitedChelsea
2009–10ChelseaManchester United
2008–09Manchester UnitedLiverpool
2007–08Manchester UnitedChelsea
2006–07Manchester UnitedChelsea
2005–06ChelseaManchester United
2002–03Manchester UnitedArsenal
2000–01Manchester UnitedArsenal
1999–2000Manchester UnitedArsenal
1998–99Manchester UnitedArsenal
1997–98ArsenalManchester United
1996–97Manchester UnitedNewcastle United
1995–96Manchester UnitedNewcastle United
1994–95Blackburn RoversManchester United
1993–94Manchester UnitedBlackburn Rovers
1992–93Manchester UnitedAston Villa

Also Read: Manchester United, Liverpool or Chelsea: Which is the most popular club in Premier League?