Home Football

UEFA names Europa League Finals venue for 2024 and 2025

European Football’s governing body UEFA have named the hosts for the 2024 and 2025 Europa League finals. The governing body has decided to nominate Dublin and Bilbao as the hosts for the marquee event in a move which also sees them compensated for being duped of their EURO 2020 hosting rights.

Dublin will host the finals of Europa League in 2024 and Bilbao in 2025. The Spanish city was also named as the hosts for UEFA Women’s Champions League finals in 2024.

UEFA decided to compensate the two venues which missed out on hosting EURO 2020

Dublin will stage the Europa League final in 2024

Both of Dublin and Bilbao were officially named among the hosts to stage the EURO 2020 this summer, which was staged all throughout Europe for the first time in the tournament’s history. However, both these venues were cancelled after the authorities failed to provide assurances that crowds would be allowed inside the stadiums in 2020. The Basque nation had said, they would not allow spectators inside the stadiums owning to their low rate of vaccination back then.

UEFA said its executive committee made the decisions as part of a settlement agreement recognizing the efforts and financial investment put by the two cities to prepare for Euro 2020.

San Mames is the home ground of Spanish club Athletic Bilbao and has a 50,000-plus capacity. It was re-built on the site of its old stadium in 2013.

The Aviva Stadium in Dublin is Ireland’s one and only UEFA Category 4 stadium and has a capacity of more than 50,000. It serves as the home stadium to Republic of Ireland’s Football and Rugby teams

San Mames will host the 2025 edition of Europa League

Upcoming UEFA Europa League final venues

  • 2022: Ramón Sánchez-Pizjuán Stadium, Seville, Spain
  • 2023: Puskás Aréna, Budapest, Hungary
  • 2024: Dublin Arena, Dublin, Republic of Ireland
  • 2025: San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao, Spain

Also Read: Copa America 2021 Brazil vs Argentina Player Ratings: Argentina crowned the champions of the Copa America after 28 long years