Mexican GP 2021: Most Successful Teams and Drivers at Hermanos Rodríguez Grand Prix circuit

The Hermanos Rodríguez circuit at the Mexican GP is seen as one of the strongholds of Red Bull. But which team has won the most races in the turbo hybrid era?

Mexican Grand Prix

With only 5 races left in the 2021 Formula 1 season, the Mexican GP is next on the list. The tight fight between Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton will be put to the test in what is considered to be a high altitude location. With Mercedes facing issues in such conditions in the past, the Herman’s Rodriguez Circuit is seen to be Red Bull’s strong hold.

The Hermanos Rodriguez circuit made its appearance as a championship in 1963, and since then enjoyed success till 1970. It came back again for four years in 1986, and disappeared from the calendar till the beginning of the turbo hybrid era in 2015.

The debut year in 2015 saw Mercedes clinch first and second place by Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton respectively, while Valtteri Bottas took third. Nico Rosberg set the fastest time of the race at 1.20.521s, as Mercedes clinched the constructors championship.

2016 saw Mercedes dominate once again, this time Hamilton clinching the top spot followed by teammate Rosberg. Daniel Ricciardo at Red Bull took third place, also while setting the fastest lap at 1.21.134s.

The 2017 Mexican GP saw the rise of Max Verstappen and Red Bull at the circuit, clinching the top spot ahead of Valtteri Bottas at Mercedes. Kimi Raikkonen took third place for Ferrari while Red Bull clinched the constructors. The top time however, was set by Sebastian Vettel at a blistering 1:18.785s.

Red Bull vs. Mercedes: The Tussle at the Mexican GP in the Recent Years

Mexican GP
Mexican GP

The 2018 Mexican Grand Prix was once again dominated by Max Verstappen, but Ferrari had an incredible second and third place with Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel. While Daniel Ricciardo had an excellent qualifying, his car did not make it past the first few laps of the race. Valtteri Bottas set the fastest time of the race at 1:18.741s

2019 finally saw the return of Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes, as he won the Mexican GP along with his teammate Bottas, who took third. Sebastian Vettel split the two Mercedes finishing in second place, while the fastest lap was set by his teammate Charles Leclerc at 1:19.232s.

2015Nico RosbergMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2017Max VerstappenRed Bull
2018Max VerstappenRed Bull
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes

Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen have won 2 races each at this circuit. While the 2020 Grand Prix was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic, it is back again in 2021, as the fight is said to be intense between Red Bull, Mercedes and Ferrari.

Also read: Toto Wolff: Valtteri Bottas ‘not an F1 phenomenon”