On Tuesday, April 27 (Tuesday), the International Cricket Council (ICC) found itself in a tough position after mistakenly tagging Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne in a post about Lahiru Thirimanne. ICC posted a photo of Thirimanne playing the straight drive two days after Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Test ended in a draw, but incorrectly tagged Karunaratne in the post. It was an unpleasant experience for the ICC.
In the fact that the photo was merely captioned “Precision. Elegance. Poise,” they made a mistake in the tags feature. It didn’t take long for die-hard fans of the game to point out the error to ICC.
“Dear ICC, he is Thirimanne, not Karunaratne,” a fan commented. The Sri Lanka skipper’s official Facebook fan page, which impersonates Karunaratne, also replied to the post, writing, “That’s not me.”
Noticeably, they had made the same mistake on all social media platforms when they published the post. However, ICC was quick to correct the error after fans pointed it out. The ICC later removed the Twitter post and corrected the mistake on other websites, tagging Thirimanne in the process.
Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne make merry
In the first Test against Bangladesh, Karunaratne and Thirimanne put on a 114-run opening stand. Karunaratne then went on to score a double century, his first in Test cricket. Karunaratne’s score of 244 is also the second-highest by a Sri Lanka captain in Test matches. His 244-run innings spanned 437 deliveries and had 26 boundaries. Another record for Sri Lanka in Tests was his 345-run partnership with Dhananjaya de Silva, who scored 166 from 291 deliveries.
In the meantime, the ICC has given the pitch used for the first Test at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium a below-average rating and was handed one demerit point by the match referee Ranjan Madugalle. The wicket on offer was batting-friendly, and the batters took advantage of it, scoring a total of 1289 runs over five days with the match ending in a draw.