India vs Australia: Australia firmly on top at end of Day 3

India were bowled out for just 244 runs while Australia crossed 100 in their second innings for the loss of just 2 wickets.


Australia ended Day 3 of the third Test against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground 97 runs ahead and with 8 wickets in the bag. On a day which India began slightly ahead in the Test, it all went wrong as the Aussie bowlers’ disciplined bowling and some poor running between the wickets cost India dearly as they were folded out for just 244 runs.

In reply, despite losing two quick wickets – that of their openers, the reliable duo of Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith steadied the ship for Australia and took the score to 100 and the lead to 197. Australia are well and truly on top now and should be able to seal victory.

India bowled out for 244

Japsrit Bumrah gets run-out

Earlier, Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara began the day patiently and tried to up the ante a bit. Pat Cummins provided the breakthrough by removing the Indian skipper and then the floodgates opened for Australia. Pujara was out after scoring fifty. The Indian middle-order that followed got starts but was unable to convert it to a big innings. India’s poor running between the wickets didn’t help either. There were as many as 3 run-outs in the innings. Only Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja offered some resistance.

In their second innings, the Australians were pegged back early as Will Pucovski was dismissed by Mohammed Siraj and David Warner by Ravichandran Ashwin – his tenth dismissal of the southpaw in Test matches. However, Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith weathered the Indian bowling and confidently took Australia’s score past 100. Australia are now in a very strong position to go 2-1 up in the series.


Australia – 1st innings

BatsmanMode of DismissalRunsBalls
Will Pucovskilbw b Saini62110
David Warnerc Pujara b Siraj58
Marnus Labuschagnec Rahane b Jadeja91196
Steve Smithrun out (Jadeja)131226
Matthew Wadec Bumrah b Jadeja1316
Cameron Greenlbw b Bumrah021
Tim Paineb Bumrah110
Pat Cumminsb Jadeja013
Mitchell Starcc Gill b Saini2430
Nathan Lyonlbw b Jadeja03
Josh Hazlewoodnot out16

Total – 338 all-out in 105.4 overs

Jasprit Bumrah25.4662
Mohammed Siraj25671
Ravichandran Ashwin24740
Navdeep Saini13652
Ravindra Jadeja18624

India – 1st innings

BatsmanMode of DismissalRunsBalls
Rohit Sharmac & b Hazlewood2677
Shubman Gillc Green b Cummins50101
Cheteshwar Pujarac Paine b Cummins50176
Ajinkya Rahaneb Cummins2270
Hanuma Viharirun out(Hazlewood)438
Rishabh Pantc Warner b Hazlewood3667
Ravindra Jadejanot out2837
Ravichandran Ashwinrun out (Cummins/Labuschagne)1015
Navdeep Sainic Wade b Starc313
Jasprit Bumrahrun out (Labuschagne)02
Mohammed Sirajc Paine b Cummins610

Total – 244 all-out in 100.4 overs

Mitchell Starc19611
Josh Hazlewood21432
Pat Cummins21.4294
Nathan Lyon31870
Marnus Labuschagne3110
Cameron Green5110

Australia – 2nd innings

BatsmanMode of DismissalRunsBalls
David Warnerlbw b Ashwin1329
Will Pucovskic (sub) Saha b Siraj1016
Marnus Labuschagnenot out4769
Steve Smithnot out2963

Total – 103/2 in 29 overs

Japsrit Bumrah8260
Mohammed Siraj8201
Navdeep Saini7280
Ravichandran Ashwin6281

Also Read: India vs Australian: ‘I was just asking him friendly questions’ – Marnus Labuschagne on ‘disappointing’ on-field conversation with Shubman Gill


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here