India vs England 2021: Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia earn maiden call-ups as India announce squad for T20Is

Varun Chakravarthy who missed out on the tour of Australia due to an injury was also recalled

Indian T20I Team
Indian T20I Team

India announced the squad for the 5 T20Is against England with Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia earning maiden call-ups. Spinner Varun Chakravarthy who missed out on the tour of Australia due to an injury was also recalled. Further, Bhuvneshwar Kumar who had been away from the national team for quite some time was also recalled after his return to full fitness. Rishabh Pant also returned on the back of his terrific form with the Indian test team.

The 5 T20Is will take place in Ahmedabad on alternate days from March 12 to March 20. The decision to conduct all the matches at the Motera Stadium has been taken with an eye on the COVID-19 restrictions and the bio-bubble protocols.

India’s full squad for the T20Is against England

Ishank Kishan Suryakumar Yadav - FirstSportz
Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav

Meanwhile, the likes of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav were absent from the squad in order to give them rest and keep them fresh. Other notable entrants were Rohit Sharma who didn’t take part in the limited overs series in Australia and Axar Patel who just returned a five-wicket haul in his debut test for India.

Ishan Kishan’s selection comes following his terrific knock in the Vijay Hazare Trophy today where he scored 173 runs off 94 balls. Suryakumar Yadav has also been knocking on the selectors’ doors with his consistent displays. Rahul Tewatia’s pick is the surprising one as not many saw it coming.

The Squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

Also Read: India vs England 2021: Cricketers drool over the magnificent Motera Stadium, read what they have to about it