India vs England 2021: Out or Not Out? Close stumping call against Rohit Sharma divides Twitter

Rohit Sharma eventually got out to the same bowler Jack Leach but the contentious call created some controversy.

88
blank
Rohit Sharma

The ongoing second Test between India and England witnessed a contentious umpiring call when centurion Rohit Sharma was given not out for a stumping appeal off Jack Leach‘s bowling. The opener was batting on 159 in the 71st over bowled by the left arm spinner when some quick glove work by wicket-keeper Ben Foakes got England interested and the decision was sent to the third umpire.

Replays didn’t show conclusive evidence that the foot was behind the line. The third umpire had a look at two angles and was unable to get the reverse angle before he decided that it was not out by giving the batsman the benefit of doubt. The decision didn’t impact the game much as Rohit got out within the next two overs while trying to hit a six off the same bowler’s delivery. However, the decision divided Twitter with some saying it was out and others saying it was not. Here are a few such reactions:

Twitter reacts to third umpire’s call

Also Read: India vs England 2021: Twitter erupts as Rohit Sharma brings up his 7th Test century

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here