Indian Hockey team ready for Tokyo Olympics Next Year


Indian men’s hockey team will start its campaign against New Zealand at the Tokyo Olympics from 24 July 2021. The women’s hockey team will join them against the Netherlands from the same day.

The revised schedule for the competition came on Friday. Women’s team will be led by Rani Rampal against the world’s no 1 Netherlands.

Indian women’s team is placed in Pool A with Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, and South Africa and will play against Pool B made up of Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, Spain, China, and Japan.

“Our girls can’t wait to start the campaign at the Tokyo Olympics. We start the Games against the world’s No. 1 team but it really doesn’t matter who we play against,” said Dutchman Marijne to the Olympic Channel. We will be out there to give our best and achieve our team goals,” 46-year-old Marijne, a former Dutch national coach, added.

Originally the Tokyo Olympic Games were scheduled to start from July 25 until August 7 August 2020 at the Oi Hockey Stadium in Japan’s capital city.

Also Read Indian Junior Hockey Star Kharibam speaks on ‘How Blessed’ she feels to be learning from Senior players

“Although nothing has changed in terms of the location and overall running order of the matches, the Olympic hockey competitions will now start on July 24 and conclude on August 6, 2021,” the International Hockey Federation (FIH) said in a statement.

Eight-time Olympics Champion will face Australia in their second league on July 25, match against Spain on July 27, defending Olympic champions Argentina on July 29 and hosts Japan on July 30.

Top 4 teams from each pool will face each other in the quarterfinals. Men’s quarterfinals, semi-finals, and finals are on August 1, 3, and 5 respectively, while women’s on August 2, 4, and 6.

Also Read The Hockey Legend Ashok Kumar feels if the Olympics didn’t postpone, India had a good chance

Indian men’s hockey team Olympics schedule (All timings in IST).

Saturday, July 24 – India vs New Zealand – 6.30 am
Sunday, July 25 – India vs Australia – 3 pm
Tuesday, July 27 – India vs Spain – 6.30 am
Thursday, 29 July – India vs Argentina – 6 am
Friday, 30 July – India vs Japan – 3 pm
Sunday, 1 August – Quarterfinals – 6 am, 10.15 am, 3 pm, 7.15 pm
Tuesday, 3 August – Semifinals – 7 am, 3.30 pm
Thursday, 5 August – Bronze medal match (7 am), Final (3.30 pm).

Also Read Hockey star Mandeep Mor’s “greatest motivation” is Sandeep Singh

Indian women’s hockey team Olympics schedule
Saturday, July 24 – India vs Netherlands – 6.45 pm
Monday, 26 July – India vs Germany – 7.15 pm
Wednesday, 28 July – India vs Great Britain – 6.30 am
Friday, 30 July – India vs Ireland – 9.45 am
Saturday, 31 July – India vs South Africa – 10.15 am
Monday, 2 August – Quarterfinals – 6 am, 10.15 am, 3 pm, 7.15 pm
Wednesday, 4 August – Semifinals – 7 am, 3.30 pm
Friday, 6 August – Bronze medal match (7 am), Final (3.30 pm).

Also Read Sharmila Devi is all set to show her hockey skills after lockdown


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here