IPL 2021: Aaron Finch, Umesh Yadav, Chris Morris released as Royal Challengers Bangalore announce 12 retentions

Royal Challengers Bangalore became the first team to announce their full list of retained players for the 2021 season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) announced their 12 retained players ahead of the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). There were some familiar names but a few surprises as well with RCB deciding to free up their purse a bit ahead of the all-important auction.

RCB had a decent season last year in the UAE as they finished 4th. They looked on course to finish in the top 2 and make their way to the first qualifier but a late slump meant that they had to be content with a place in the Eliminator which they eventually lost. Their focus now would be to strengthen their squad with the freed up purse and build a team capable of winning the IPL trophy for the first time in the franchise’s history.

Most expensive buy of 2020 for RCB, Chris Morris released

Chris Morris
Chris Morris

The 12 retained players for RCB are as follows: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Devdutt Padikkal, Navdeep Saini, Adam Zampa, Shahbaz Ahmed, Josh Philippe, Kane Richardson and Pawan Deshpande. Meanwhile, RCB have also traded in Harshal Patel and Daniel Sams from Delhi Capitals.

The notably absentees are the side’s most expensive buy (Rs. 10 crores) last year, Chris Morris, pacer Umesh Yadav, Sri Lankan all-rounder Isuru Udana, English all-rounder Moeen Ali and Australian skipper Aaron Finch. It is noteworthy that most of these players had a below-par season in 2020 and hence, with an eye on freeing up money for buys at the auction, RCB have made their decision.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Rajasthan Royals release skipper Steve Smith ahead of auction


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here