IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings survive an almighty scare to get past Kolkata Knight Riders

Andre Russell and Pat Cummins hit explosive fifties to almost take Kolkata Knight Riders home.

Chennai Super Kings
Sam Curran celebrates the wicket of Andre Russell

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) put on an exhibition of exhilarating hitting and in the end, it was the former who came up trumps. On a batting beauty of a wicket in Wankhede Stadium, KKR gave a humongous scare to CSK through their batting in the lower-order led by Andre Russell and Pat Cummins, but in the end the target of 220 was just too stiff.

Earlier, KKR won the toss and opted to field first. They opted to bring in Sunil Narine and Kamlesh Nagarkoti for Shakib Al Hasan and Harbhajan Singh. CSK brought in South African pacer Lungi Ngidi and decided to hand rest to Dwayne Bravo.

Faf du Plessis’ knock proves to be the difference

Faf du Plessis
Faf du Plessis

CSK began in excellent fashion as Ruturaj Gaikwad rewarded the faith shown in him by the management with a classy knock. His partner at the other end, Faf du Plessis played anchor before opening up as well. The duo got to a hundred partnership before the former holed out. There were then cameos from Moeen Ali and MS Dhoni coupled with du Plessis’ unbeaten knock of 95 which helped CSK to 195.

In the chase, KKR incredibly slumped to 31/5 in the Powerplay to leave Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik with a mountain to climb. However, the former produced a vintage knock that had the CSK hearts pounding before Sam Curran accounted for him with a strange bowled dismissal. Even after Karthik’s dismissal that followed, Pat Cummins kept KKR in the game with a fifty before he ran out of partners in the last over with 20 runs needed to win the match.


CSK innings

BATTING Mode of DismissalRB4s6sSR
Ruturaj Gaikwad c Cummins b Varun644264152.38
Faf du Plessis not out956094158.33
Moeen Ali st †Karthik b Narine251222208.33
MS Dhonic Morgan b Russell17821212.50
Ravindra Jadeja not out6101600.00

Total – 220/3 in 20 overs

Varun Chakravarthy402716.7582100
Pat Cummins4058014.5054430
Sunil Narine403418.50104101
Prasidh Krishna4049012.25104312
Andre Russell2027113.5044120
Kamlesh Nagarkoti2025012.5021200

KKR innings

BATTING Mode of DismissalRB4s6sSR
Nitish Rana c †Dhoni b Chahar9122075.00
Shubman Gill c Ngidi b Chahar01000.00
Rahul Tripathi c †Dhoni b Ngidi891088.88
Eoin Morganc †Dhoni b Chahar7710100.00
Sunil Narine c Jadeja b Chahar4310133.33
Dinesh Karthiklbw b Ngidi402442166.66
Andre Russell  b Curran542236245.45
Pat Cummins not out663446194.11
Kamlesh Nagarkoti c du Plessis b Ngidi02000.00
Varun Chakravarthy run out (Chahar/Curran)01000.00
Prasidh Krishna run out (Chahar/Thakur)01000.00

Total – 202 all-out in 19.1 overs

Deepak Chahar402947.25143200
Sam Curran4058114.50104610
Lungi Ngidi402837.00152210
Ravindra Jadeja403308.2573101
Shardul Thakur3.1048015.1554350

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter reacts as Ruturaj Gaikwad returns to form with a classy knock

Also Read: IPL 2021: WATCH – MS Dhoni hits his first six of the year