IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings clinch fifth win in a row by easing past Sunrisers Hyderabad

Both Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad got half-centuries to lead CSK to a facile win.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis
Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) climbed to the top of the table with a comprehensive win over Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Men in Yellow were completely unstoppable in the chase of 172 as they raced towards the target thanks to their openers who put on yet another 100-run partnership to set the tone for the win.

Earlier at the toss, both captains gave contrasting views on what they would like to do. While David Warner won the toss and opted to bat first, MS Dhoni stated that he would love to have bowled first. Both captains agreed however, that the pitch wouldn’t change much during the course of both the innings. It was evident in the match as the CSK batters made merry in the second innings with the pitch not offering much for the bowlers.

David Warner struggles; Openers lead CSK to easy win

David Warner
David Warner

Opting to bat first, Jonny Bairstow lost his wicket early as he holed out off Sam Curran‘s bowling early on. Manish Pandey then joined David Warner and the duo kept the scoreboard ticking albeit patiently. The former was the aggressor as he got to his fifty while the latter struggled to connect deliveries and cantered to an agonizing run-a-ball fifty. In the end, it was some excellent striking from Kane Williamson and Kedar Jadhav which took SRH past 170.

In the chase, CSK began in brisk fashion as Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis continued their excellent form from the previous two matches. The duo took on the SRH bowlers and put CSK on course for a facile win with half-centuries. Although Rashid Khan hit back late on with 3 wickets, it was too little too late. Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja then saw the chase through with ease in 18.3 overs.


SRH innings

David Warnerc Jadeja b Ngidi575532103.63
Jonny Bairstowc Chahar b Curran7510140.00
Manish Pandey c du Plessis b Ngidi614651132.60
Kane Williamson not out261041260.00
Kedar Jadhav not out12411300.00

Total – 171/3 in 20 overs

Deepak Chahar302107.0073010
Sam Curran403017.5092110
Shardul Thakur4044011.0045110
Moeen Ali201608.0030100
Lungi Ngidi403528.7573120
Ravindra Jadeja302307.6661110

CSK innings

Ruturaj Gaikwad  b Rashid Khan7544120170.45
Faf du Plessis lbw b Rashid Khan563861147.36
Moeen Ali c Jadhav b Rashid Khan15830187.50
Ravindra Jadeja not out7610116.66
Suresh Raina not out171530113.33

Total – 173/3 in 18.3 overs

Sandeep Sharma3.302406.8583010
Khaleel Ahmed403609.0075010
Siddarth Kaul403208.0084000
Jagadeesha Suchith3045015.0027100
Rashid Khan403639.0076010

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter reacts as David Warner comes up with a slow 55-ball 57 against Chennai Super Kings

Also Read: “I want a 12 awarded!” – Kevin Pietersen vouches for change in rules of T20 cricket