IPL 2021: Prithvi Shaw’s stupendous knock guides Delhi Capitals to victory over Kolkata Knight Riders

Prithvi Shaw aced the chase for Delhi Capitals as he came out all guns blazing and never looked back.

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw

Delhi Capitals (DC) eased past Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad today as they came under the pump to a whirlwind knock from opener Prithvi Shaw. The youngster showcased tremendous skill and force as he produced one of the best knocks of his Indian Premier League (IPL) career to ensure that his side coasted him in very quick time.

Earlier, DC won the toss and opted to field first. They brought in Lalit Yadav instead of the injured Amit Mishra. KKR on the other hand, decided to remain unchanged for the all-important clash. With just two wins in six matches, it was a match that the Eoin Morgan-led side had to win. However, that was not what happened.

Prithvi Shaw blows away Kolkata Knight Riders

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw

Put in to bat first, KKR got off to a slow start and lost Nitish Rana early. With Shubman Gill choosing to drop anchor, KKR’s run-rate was always on the lower side. With the middle order failing, the lower middle order led by Andre Russell had to deliver and the West Indian did so with some tremendous striking at the death. His unbeaten knock of 45 led his side to a score of 154 which was a touch below par.

In the chase, Prithvi Shaw made a mockery of the target. He began by stunningly hitting Shivam Mavi for six fours in the first over – the first instance it has happened in an opening over in the IPL. The opener never looked back after that as he continued the explosive hitting to take DC close to the target with Shikhar Dhawan offering excellent support at the other end. Although the duo and Rishabh Pant gout out late, the job had been done and DC clinched victory in the 17th over.


KKR innings

Nitish Rana st †Pant b Patel151211125.00
Shubman Gill c Smith b Avesh Khan433831113.15
Rahul Tripathi c Lalit Yadav b Stoinis191720111.76
Eoin Morganc Smith b Lalit Yadav02000.00
Sunil Narine  b Lalit Yadav01000.00
Andre Russell not out452724166.66
Dinesh Karthiklbw b Patel141011140.00
Pat Cummins not out11131084.61

Total – 154/6 in 20 overs

Ishant Sharma403408.5063100
Kagiso Rabada403107.75102210
Axar Patel403228.00111300
Avesh Khan403117.7583100
Lalit Yadav301324.3360000
Marcus Stoinis10717.0031000

DC innings

Prithvi Shaw c Rana b Cummins8241113200.00
Shikhar Dhawan lbw b Cummins46474197.87
Rishabh Pantc Shivam Mavi b Cummins16821200.00
Marcus Stoinis not out6310200.00
Shimron Hetmyer not out01000.00

Total – 156/3 in 16.3 overs

Shivam Mavi1025025.0006010
Varun Chakravarthy403408.5052120
Prasidh Krishna3.3036010.28105101
Sunil Narine403609.0062210
Pat Cummins402436.00153100

Also Read: Sachin Tendulkar donates Rs. 1 crore to ‘Mission Oxygen’ for COVID-19 relief

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter reacts as Prithvi Shaw hits 6 fours in a row off the first over


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here