IPL 2021: Kolkata Knight Riders get past Punjab Kings to secure their second win of the season

Kolkata Knight Riders rode on an excellent bowling performance that saw them keep things tight throughout the first innings.

Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata Knight Riders
FirstSportz News

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) brushed off a horror start in the chase to ease past Punjab Kings (PBKS) and get their second win of the season. The win meant that the Men in Purple broke their four-match losing streak and climbed from the last position on the table. PBKS on the other hand, were pegged back after they themselves had broken a three-match losing streak to win in the previous match.

It is noteworthy that the match was the first on at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The pitch which hosted five T20Is between India and England before the IPL, proved to be on the slower side. There was also plenty of dew which proved to beneficial to KKR in the end.

KKR come up with inspired bowling performance

Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata Knight Riders

Earlier, KKR won the toss and opted to field first. PBKS got off to an indifferently slow start as KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal batted patiently. Then, once the former got out, the floodgates opened and there was wicket after wicket that followed. None of the PBKS batters was able to get going on a difficult pitch with only Chris Jordan helping the score get past 120. Prasidh Krishna was the pick of the bowlers for KKR with 3 wickets.

In the chase, KKR got off to a horror start as well, as Nitish Rana and Shubman Gill lost their wickets early. Under pressure with PBKS applying the choke, Rahul Tripathi and Eoin Morgan came up with a useful partnership that kept the scoreboard ticking. Although the former got dismissed before he could get to a fifty, the latter and Andre Russell joined hands and got the side close to the target before Dinesh Karthik applied the finishing touches.


PBKS innings

KL Rahulc Narine b Cummins19202195.00
Mayank Agarwal c Tripathi b Narine31341291.17
Chris Gayle c †Karthik b Shivam Mavi01000.00
Deepak Hooda c Morgan b Prasidh Krishna140025.00
Nicholas Pooran  b Varun191911100.00
Moises Henriques  b Narine230066.66
Shahrukh Khan c Morgan b Prasidh Krishna13140192.85
Chris Jordan  b Prasidh Krishna301813166.66
Ravi Bishnoi c Morgan b Cummins140025.00
Mohammed Shami not out120050.00
Arshdeep Singh not out1100100.00

Total – 123/9 in 20 overs

Shivam Mavi401313.25151010
Pat Cummins3031210.3392310
Sunil Narine402225.50101100
Prasidh Krishna403037.50120320
Andre Russell10202.0040000
Varun Chakravarthy402416.00101100

KKR innings

Shubman Gill lbw b Mohammed Shami9820112.50
Nitish Rana c Shahrukh Khan b Henriques01000.00
Rahul Tripathi c Shahrukh Khan b Hooda413270128.12
Sunil Narine c Ravi Bishnoi b Arshdeep Singh04000.00
Eoin Morgannot out474042117.50
Andre Russell run out (Arshdeep Singh/†Rahul)10920111.11
Dinesh Karthiknot out12620200.00

Total – 126/5 in 16.4 overs

Moises Henriques10515.0041000
Mohammed Shami402516.25174110
Arshdeep Singh2.4027110.1255000
Ravi Bishnoi401904.7591000
Chris Jordan302408.0084000
Deepak Hooda2020110.0032100

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter reacts as Kolkata Knight Riders use coded messages from the dug out

Also Read: IPL 2021: WATCH – Ravi Bishnoi takes a blinder of a catch to dismiss Sunil Narine