IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians (MI) Team Profile Overview, Stats, Auctions Analysis, Season-Wise Performance, Full Schedule and Squad

Mumbai Indians will be eying a record-extending sixth Indian Premier League title this season.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians - FirstSportz
Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians (MI) franchise is the one to beat in this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament. Coming off the back of two successive titles, MI will want to become the first team to do the three-peat. Going by the look of things, they will be favorites to win the tournament for a record-extending sixth team. The team balance is top notch and the talent pool available holds them in very good stead.

Last season, Mumbai Indians breezed through to the title as they finished top of the table in the league stages before going on to beat Delhi Capitals (DC) in both the Qualifier 1 and the final.

MI didn’t make a lot of changes to their squad during the retention window and the auction. At the auction, they focused solely on getting more pacers to strengthen their bowling attack. Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Milne and James Neesham were their top overseas buys while Piyush Chawla was roped in to add an extra spinning option. The acquisition of Arjun Tendulkar also made news following the auction.

Mumbai Indians: Team Overview

Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 Celebrations

Let’s take a look at the strengths and weaknesses of the franchise.


MI have perhaps the most balanced team in the tournament. The players will be high on confidence and almost everything about the team does appear strong. They have an excellent batting line-up that also bats deep, they have top-notch all-rounders and more importantly, they have some of the most feared fast bowlers in the world.

They are led by the ever dependable Rohit Sharma and with some excellent bench strength at his disposal too, this time around, MI would fancy their chances of doing the three-peat.


There aren’t a lot of weaknesses for MI and if there is one thing that could work against them, it could be the weight of expectation. Anything less than a title win would be considered a not so good season.

MI’s spin attack while reliable is not the best in the tournament. Rahul Chahar, Piyush Chawla and Krunal Pandya can keep things tight but batsmen would look to target them due to the strength of the MI pacers.

Mumbai Indians: Season Wise Performance

Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 Celebrations
Captain Rohit Sharma
Year CaptainResultTop BatsmanRunsTop BowlerWicketsWin%
2020Rohit Sharma2ndIshan Kishan516Jasprit Bumrah2768.75
2019Rohit Sharma1stQuinton de Kock529Jasprit Bumrah1968.75
2018Rohit Sharma5thSuryakumar Yadav512Hardik Pandya1842.86
2017Rohit Sharma1stParthiv Patel395Jasprit Bumrah2070.59
2016Rohit Sharma5thRohit Sharma489Mitchell McClenaghan1750.00
2015Rohit Sharma1stLendl Simmons540Lasith Malinga2462.50
2014Rohit Sharma4thLendl Simmons394Lasith Malinga1646.67
2013Ricky Ponting/Rohit Sharma1stRohit Sharma538Harbhajan Singh2468.42
2012Harbhajan Singh4thRohit Sharma433Lasith Malinga2258.82
2011Sachin Tendulkar3rdSachin Tendulkar553Lasith Malinga2862.50
2010Sachin Tendulkar2ndSachin Tendulkar618Harbhajan Singh1768.75
2009Sachin Tendulkar7thJP Duminy372Lasith Malinga1835.71
2008Sachin Tendulkar/Harbhajan Singh/Shaun Pollock5thSanath Jayasuriya518Ashish Nehra1250.00

Mumbai Indians: Team Stats

Rohit sharma Quinton de kock - FirstSportz
Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock

Batting Stats:

  • Most Runs: Rohit Sharma (5230)
  • Most 100s: Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya, Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, Quinton De Kock (1 each)
  • Most 50s: Rohit Sharma (39)
  • Best Batting Average: Lendl Simmons (39.96)
  • Best Strike Rate: Hardik Pandya (159.26)
  • Most 6s: Rohit Sharma (213)
  • Highest Individual Score: Andrew Symonds (117*)

Bowling Stats:

  • Most Wickets: Lasith Malinga (170)
  • Best Bowling Figures: Alzarri Joseph (6/12)
  • Most 4-Wicket Hauls: Lasith Malinga (6)
  • Most 5 Wicket Hauls: Lasith Malinga (1)

Here is the List of Mumbai Indians IPL 2021 fixtures, venues and match timings

Mumbai Indians - FirstSportz
DateVenueOpponentTime (IST)
09/04ChennaiRoyal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PM
13/04ChennaiKolkata Knight Riders7:30 PM
17/04ChennaiSunrisers Hyderabad7:30 PM
20/04ChennaiDelhi Capitals7:30 PM
23/04ChennaiPunjab Kings7:30 PM
29/04DelhiRajasthan Royals7:30 PM
01/05DelhiChennai Super Kings7:30 PM
04/05DelhiSunrisers Hyderabad7:30 PM
08/05DelhiRajasthan Royals7:30 PM
10/05BangaloreKolkata Knight Riders7:30 PM
13/05BangalorePunjab Kings3:30 PM
16/05BangaloreChennai Super Kings7:30 PM
20/05KolkataRoyal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PM
23/05KolkataDelhi Capitals3:30 PM

Mumbai Indians: 2021 Auction Buys and Trades

Jimmy Neesham
Jimmy Neesham

Complete list of all the released players:

Lasith Malinga, Mitch McClenaghan, James Pattinson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sherfane Rutherford, Prince Balwant Rai, Digvijay Deshmukh

Complete list of players bought by KKR in 2021 Auctions:

Nathan Coulter Nile (5 crore), Adam Milne (3.2 crore), Piyush Chawla (2.4 crore), James Neesham (50 lakh), Yudhvir Charak (20 lakh), Marco Jansen (20 lakh), Arjun Tendulkar (20 lakh)

Mumbai Indians squad for IPL 2021

Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 Celebrations
Hardik Pandya

Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Chris Lynn, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter Nile, Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla, James Neesham, Yudhvir Charak, Marco Jansen, Arjun Tendulkar.

Also Read: Here is everything you need to know about IPL 2021