IPL 2021: KL Rahul and Harpreet Brar lead Punjab Kings to facile win over Royal Challengers Bangalore

Harpreet Brar removed Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Glenn Maxwell while KL Rahul scored 91*.

Harpreet Brar
Harpreet Brar and KL Rahul

Punjab Kings (PBKS) secured an important win today against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to ensure that they go into the second half of the league phase with confidence. At the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, PBKS were guided by an excellent anchoring innings from KL Rahul and all-round brilliance from Harpreet Brar who came up with the performance of his life.

Earlier, PBKS were put in to bat by RCB. The Virat Kohli-led side brought in Shahbaz Ahmed instead of Washington Sundar stating that they were looking at match-ups. PBKS on the other hand, made three changes as they brought in Prabhsimran Singh for the injured Mayank Agarwal, Harpreet Brar instead of Arshdeep Singh and Riley Meredith for Moises Henriques.

Punjab Kings romp to victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore

KL Rahul and Harpreet Brar
KL Rahul and Harpreet Brar

Put in to bat, PBKS lost new opener Prabhsimran early on. On an indifferently low score in the first five overs, Chris Gayle and KL Rahul began accelerating. With the two on song, it seemed like 200 was on the cards. However, a spectacular slump led to Rahul losing the support of the entire middle order who fell in quick succession. It was then some excellent hitting from Harpreet Brar and Rahul in the end which helped PBKS to 179.

In the chase, RCB lost Devdutt Padikkal early as Riley Meredith sent his off-stump cartwheeling. Virat Kohli and Rajat Patidar then set about rebuilding, albeit a bit too slowly. With the pressure building, Kohli fell to Brar who then went on to remove both Glenn Maxwell and AB de Villiers. The game was all but done by then as the equation to win was just too stiff. In the end, all RCB could manage was 145 thanks to some late hitting.


PBKS innings

KL Rahulnot out915775159.64
Prabhsimran Singhc Kohli b Jamieson7710100.00
Chris Gayle c †de Villiers b Sams462462191.66
Nicholas Pooran c Shahbaz Ahmed b Jamieson03000.00
Deepak Hooda c Patidar b Shahbaz Ahmed590055.55
Shahrukh Khan  b Chahal03000.00
Harpreet Brar not out251712147.05

Total – 179/5 in 20 overs

Daniel Sams402416.00111120
Mohammed Siraj302408.0072110
Kyle Jamieson3032210.6675110
Yuzvendra Chahal403418.5091300
Harshal Patel4053013.2556300
Shahbaz Ahmed201115.5020000

RCB innings

Virat Kohli b Harpreet Brar353431102.94
Devdutt Padikkal  b Meredith7601116.66
Rajat Patidar c Pooran b Jordan313021103.33
Glenn Maxwell  b Harpreet Brar01000.00
AB de Villiersc Rahul b Harpreet Brar390033.33
Shahbaz Ahmed c Harpreet Brar b Ravi Bishnoi8111072.72
Daniel Sams  b Ravi Bishnoi340075.00
Kyle Jamieson not out161111145.45
Harshal Patel c Ravi Bishnoi b Mohammed Shami311332238.46
Mohammed Siraj not out01000.00

Total – 145/8 in 20 overs

Riley Meredith3.202918.6972200
Mohammed Shami3.402817.6393100
Ravi Bishnoi401724.25100010
Harpreet Brar411934.75151100
Chris Jordan403117.7593110
Deepak Hooda1013013.0011100

Also Read: “Nightmare of a week” – Ravichandran Ashwin’s wife Prithi reveals ordeal with COVID-19

Also Read: IPL 2021: “We just want a way to go home” – Glenn Maxwell expresses concerns of Australian players