IPL 2021: Royal Challengers Bangalore choke Sunrisers Hyderabad in the chase to notch up second win

David Warner and Glenn Maxwell struck fifties on a tricky pitch to bat on at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) came up with an inspired bowling performance to completely choke the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) innings at the death to clinch a second consecutive win in the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The match followed a similar pattern yesterday’s match between Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders which was also held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Earlier, SRH had won the toss and opted to field first. They brought in Jason Holder and Shahbaz Nadeem for Mohammad Nabi and Sandeep Sharma. RCB on the other hand, had just one change in the form of the returning Devdutt Padikkal who replaced Rajat Patidar.

Glenn Maxwell’s fifty and Shahbaz Ahmed’s spell help RCB clinch victory

Harshal Patel

RCB got off to a bat start in the first innings as they lost opener Devdutt Padikkal early before Shahbaz Ahmed too followed him to the pavilion. It was then that Glenn Maxwell walked in and put on an excellent partnership with skipper Virat Kohli. After the latter’s dismissal, RCB collapsed a bit but the Aussie all-rounder kept the scoreboard ticking and ensured that they reached a respectable total of 149.

In the chase, SRH were going steady with David Warner scoring a fifty and Manish Pandey looking assured. However, once the wickets started falling, they fell in a heap. A stunning spell from Shahbaz Ahmed produced as many as three wickets as each and every batsmen who fell prey to him, top edged a slog. In the end, Rashid Khan tried to rescue the situation with some good shots but it wasn’t enough as RCB won by 6 runs.


RCB innings

BatsmanMode of DismissalRunsBalls
Virat Kohlic Shankar b Holder3329
Devdutt Padikkalc Nadeem b Bhuvneshwar1113
Shahbaz Ahmedc Rashid b Nadeem1410
Glenn Maxwellc Saha b Holder5941
AB de Villiersc Warner b Rashid15
Washington Sundarc Pandey b Rashid811
Dan Christianc Saha b Natarajan12
Kyle Jamiesonc Pandey b Holder129
Harshal Patelnot out00

Total – 149/8 in 20 overs

Bhuvneshwar Kumar4301
Jason Holder4303
Shahbaz Nadeem4361
T Natarajan4321
Rashid Khan4182

SRH innings

BatsmanMode of DismissalRunsBalls
Wriddhiman Sahac Maxwell b Siraj19
David Warnerc Christian b Jamieson1113
Manish Pandeyc Harshal b Shahbaz3839
Jonny Bairstowc de Villiers b Shahbaz1213
Abdul Samadc & b Shahbaz02
Vijay Shankarc Kohli b Harshal35
Jason Holderc Christian b Siraj45
Rashid Khanrun out (Siraj/de Villiers)179
Bhuvneshwar Kumarnot out22
Shahbaz Nadeemc Shahbaz b Harshal01
T Natarajannot out 00

Total – 143/9 in 20 overs

Mohammed Siraj4252
Kyle Jamieson3301
Washington Sundar2140
Yuzvendra Chahal4290
Harshal Patel4252
Dan Christian170
Shahbaz Ahmed273

Also Read: IPL 2021: Rohit Sharma wears “Plastic Free Ocean” shoes in his second tournament outing against KKR

Also Read: IPL 2021: “Everything is under control” – BCCI official says tournament won’t be shifted from Mumbai