IPL 2021: Rajasthan Royals condemn Kolkata Knight Riders to their fourth consecutive defeat

Kolkata Knight Riders just could not get going with the bat after being put in to bat first.

Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals (RR) bounced back in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2021) in some style as they thrashed Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to seal a comprehensive victory. For KKR, the warning bells have well and truly begun to ring as they have slumped to their fourth consecutive loss. Rock-bottom in the points table at the moment, they would want fortunes to change sooner rather than later.

Earlier, RR won the toss and put KKR in to bat first. They brought in Yashasvi Jaiswal for Manan Vohra and Jaydev Unadkat for Shreyas Gopal. KKR on the other hand went for a like-for-like replacement for Kamlesh Nagarkoti by bringing in Shivam Mavi.

Chris Morris shines with the ball; RR ace the chase

Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals

KKR got off to an indifferently slow start as Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana struggled to get any sort of momentum going. The former soon got himself run-out as the pressure was building. Rahul Tripathi then began his innings positively, but kept losing partners at the other end frequently. At the death, the wickets kept falling as Chris Morris picked up four wickets to restrict KKR to 133/9.

In the chase, RR began in positive fashion as Jaiswal looked fluent. The chase stuttered a bit as both Jos Buttler and Jaiswal were sent back in succession. However, Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube kept the scoreboard moving in an assured fashion. After the latter’s dismissal, the RR skipper joined Rahul Tewatia as the side cantered along in patient fashion. After Tewatia, it was David Miller who along with Samson saw his side home in 18.5 overs.


KKR innings

BatsmanMode of Dismissal RB4s6sSR
Nitish Rana c †Samson b Sakariya22251188.00
Shubman Gill run out (Buttler)11191057.89
Rahul Tripathi c Parag b Mustafizur Rahman362612138.46
Sunil Narine c Jaiswal b Unadkat671085.71
Eoin Morganrun out (Morris)00000.00
Dinesh Karthikc Sakariya b Morris252440104.16
Andre Russell c Miller b Morris9701128.57
Pat Cummins c Parag b Morris10601166.66
Shivam Mavi  b Morris571071.42
Prasidh Krishna not out00000.00

Total – 133/9 in 20 overs

Jaydev Unadkat402516.25112100
Chetan Sakariya403117.7583041
Mustafizur Rahman402215.50133000
Chris Morris402345.75180310
Rahul Tewatia302408.0041100
Shivam Dube10505.0020000

RR innings

Batsman Mode of DismissalRB4s6sSR
Jos Buttler lbw b Varun571071.42
Yashasvi Jaiswal c sub (KL Nagarkoti) b Shivam Mavi221750129.41
Sanju Samsonnot out424121102.43
Shivam Dube c Prasidh Krishna b Varun221821122.22
Rahul Tewatia c sub (KL Nagarkoti) b Prasidh Krishna580062.50
David Miller not out242330104.34

Total – 134/4 in 18.5 overs

Shivam Mavi401914.75173030
Pat Cummins3.503609.3943110
Varun Chakravarthy403228.0085000
Sunil Narine402005.00110101
Prasidh Krishna302016.6682020

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter reacts as Eoin Morgan gets run-out for a diamond duck

Also Read: IPL 2021: Twitter reacts as Riyan Parag and Rahul Tewatia come up with ‘selfie celebration’