IPL 2021: Devdutt Padkikkal’s whirlwind century blows away Rajasthan Royals

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals recovered well to score 177 runs in the first innings.

Devdutt Padikkal
Devdutt Padikkal

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) reclaimed their position at the top of the table by thrashing Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai in the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The win was down largely to young opener Devdutt Padikkal‘s swashbuckling knock that made the RR bowlers look clueless. The southpaw’s fluency in his strokes was completely on another level on the night and he was rightly named the Man of the Match.

Earlier, RCB had won the toss and opted to field first. They brought in Kane Richardson instead of Rajat Patidar while RR brought in Shreyas Gopal instead of Jaydev Unadkat as they sought to make use of the leggie’s excellent record against the likes of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. As it turned out, the latter didn’t even need to come to bat due to Padikkal’s stupendous show.

Devdutt Padikkal thrashes bowlers around the park

Devdutt Padikkal and Virat Kohli
Devdutt Padikkal and Virat Kohli

RR got off to a terrible start to their innings as the openers Jos Buttler and Manan Vohra were sent back early. The wickets then kept tumbling as David Miller and Sanju Samson were dismissed soon as well. Shivam Dube and Riyan Parag offered resistance while Rahul Tewatia shone with some sparkling shots at the death. RR finally managed to reach 177 – a score that had looked far away at one point.

In the chase, there was one-way traffic as the RCB openers completely blew away the RR bowlers. There was no chance or even half-chance offered to the bowlers as Devdutt Padikkal smashed them around the park. Virat Kohli offered excellent support as both players got to their half-centuries. The former then went on to make his maiden hundred as the RR bowlers did not have a hint of a chance. The chase was aced in no time and RCB went top of the table.


RR innings

BATTING Mode of DismissalRB4s6sSR
Jos Buttler  b Mohammed Siraj8820100.00
Manan Vohra c Richardson b Jamieson791077.77
Sanju Samsonc Maxwell b Washington Sundar211821116.66
David Miller lbw b Mohammed Siraj02000.00
Shivam Dube c Maxwell b Richardson463252143.75
Riyan Parag c Chahal b Patel251640156.25
Rahul Tewatia c Shahbaz Ahmed b Mohammed Siraj402342173.91
Chris Morris c Chahal b Patel10701142.85
Shreyas Gopal not out7401175.00
Chetan Sakariya c †de Villiers b Patel01000.00
Mustafizur Rahman not out00000.00

Total – 177/9 in 20 overs

Mohammed Siraj402736.75164110
Kyle Jamieson402817.00112120
Kane Richardson302919.6655010
Yuzvendra Chahal201809.0050210
Washington Sundar302317.6641100
Harshal Patel4047311.7586230

RCB innings

BATTING Mode of DismissalRB4s6sSR
Virat Kohlinot out724763153.19
Devdutt Padikkal not out10152116194.23

Total – 181/0 in 16.3 overs

Shreyas Gopal3035011.6664200
Chetan Sakariya403508.7574110
Chris Morris3038012.6625100
Mustafizur Rahman3.303409.7182210
Rahul Tewatia2023011.5021200
Riyan Parag1014014.0001100

Also Read: IPL 2021: WATCH – “I won the toss?” – Virat Kohli expresses surprise after winning the toss against Rajasthan Royals

Also Read: IPL 2021: T Natarajan to miss rest of the tournament with knee injury – Reports