IPL 2021: Tournament to be played across six venues; set to be played behind closed doors – Reports

IPL 2021: Tournament to be played across six venues; set to be played behind closed doors – Reports
IPL Trophy

The 2021 edition of India’s annual T20 franchise tournament, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to commence on April 9 and will go on till May 30. Six venues have been decided upon for the tournament and bio-bubble restrictions will be followed keeping in mind the COVID-19 pandemic situation in the concerned Indian states. However, the tournament is set to be played behind closed doors.


The 2020 edition of the IPL had to be postponed and shifted to the UAE due to the pandemic. All matches were played behind closed doors and there were strict restrictions across all three venues. Despite the same, the tournament was a resounding success with regard to viewership.

The tournament was won by the Mumbai Indians (MI) who will once again be favorites to clinch the trophy. They seem to have a well-balanced side and all the other sides will be out to stop them from claiming a record-bettering sixth IPL trophy.

IPL to be played in Mumbai as well

Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 Celebrations
Defending champions Mumbai Indians

According to reports from India Today, the 2021 edition of the IPL will be held in six venues. Two of the venues are Chennai and Ahmedabad which have been hosting the ongoing test series for India against England. It is noteworthy that there is no IPL franchise from Ahmedabad meaning it will be a neutral venue. Three other venues are Bangalore, New Delhi and Kolkata which all have franchises in their names.


The other venue is Mumbai which had been a subject of quite a lot of debate due to the spike in COVID-19 cases in Maharashtra. The initial plan of holding all matches in and around Mumbai was changed to having no matches in the city due to the same. However, now it seems like Mumbai will be one of the host cities.

Also Read: India vs England 2021: WATCH – Joe Root gets hit by a wayward throw from Virat Kohli