Jason Holder becomes the only player to retain All-Format Contract as West Indies announce their 18 man contract list

Roston Chase was left out of the all-format contract, while Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, Oshane Thomas, and Sheldon Cottrell had their white-ball contracts revoked.

West Indies Cricket Team
West Indies Cricket Team

The West Indies men’s cricket team has announced its list of international retainer contracts for the 2021-22 season. For the forthcoming season, 18 players have been given contracts. The contract will be in effect from July 1, 2021, until June 30, 2022.

Only Jason Holder was able to keep his all-format central deal. There were a few new names on the 18-man central contract list, as well as some unexpected exclusions.

The contract list was revealed on the West Indies’ website and social media accounts. West Indies men’s squad selector Roger Harper explained why only Jason Holder was retained on an all-format deal. “Contracts offered for the 2021-22 period sees 18 players being retained, a decrease of 4 from last year. Jason Holder is the only player to retain his all-format contract due to his strong Test and T20I performances during the evaluation period,” said Harper.

Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Akeal Hosein and Kyle Mayers all received their first contracts after aiding the West Indies to win the Test Series against Bangladesh. West Indies red-ball contracts for test specialists Shane Dowrich and Shamarh Brooks have elapsed. Roston Chase was left out of the all-format contract, while Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, Oshane Thomas and Sheldon Cottrell had their white-ball contracts revoked.

Cricket West Indies Director, Jimmy Adams, shared his joy for the players who have been awarded central contracts for the season ahead. He also hopes that those who lost out should work hard to win their spots back.

“I am happy for all the players who have been offered retainer contracts for the upcoming period. Especially pleasing was the number of players who were awarded first-time contracts in recognition of their performances during the period under review. I know that the eleven players who have lost their International retainers will be striving and fighting hard to get back into the teams and earn their central contracts back next year,” said Jimmy Adams.


Jason Holder
Jason Holder

All-Format Contracts: Jason Holder.

Red Ball Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner*, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva*, Shannon Gabriel, Kyle Mayers* and Kemar Roach.

White Ball Contracts: Kieron Pollard, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein*, Evin Lewis, Alzarri Joseph, Nicholas Pooran and Hayden Walsh Jr.

Note:  * indicates the players who received their maiden contract.

Players who are no longer receiving international retainer contracts are:

All Format Contracts: Roston Chase.

Red Ball Contracts: Shamarh Brooks and Shane Dowrich.

White Ball Contracts: Sunil Ambris, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd and Oshane Thomas.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Aakash Chopra picks the top six innings of the tournament