Home Football

Jurgen Klopp wins LMA Manger of the year award

Jurgen Klopp, manager of Liverpool FC has been named the as the best manager in the English top flight by his fellow coaches. Klopp has won the League Managers Association Manager of the Year award for 2019-2020 campaign. Klopp has won this award for guiding Liverpool to their first domestic titles in 30 years. Klopp’s Liverpool finished 18 points clear 2nd placed Manchester City.

Klopp on winning the award

In an Interview Klopp told the media, “I’m absolutely delighted to be named the winner of the League Managers Association Manager of the Year. Award for this wonderful Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy, named after a man that I admire so much. It feels extra special to win this award because it is voted for by my fellow managers. It’s an honor to be in the company of so many managers who have been named as LMA Manager of the Year before. Including of course Liverpool managers like Bill Shankly, Bob Paisley, Joe Fagan, Sir Kenny Dalglish and, in recent years, Brendan Rodgers”.

“Everything we have accomplished at Liverpool this year couldn’t have been done without the superb input of my coaching staff. They make us a really special bunch of football brains. I love to work with my coaches, my players and everyone at LFC and, of course, I am thankful for the support from all our wonderful Liverpool fans,” said Jurgen Klopp.

Alex Ferguson on Klopp

Manchester United Legend Alex Ferguson also praised the German manager for his efforts and results for Liverpool. Alex Ferguson was impressed by Klopp’s trophy collection that he had acquired in the previous 13 months with Liverpool.

In an interview Alex Ferguson said, “Congratulations Jurgen! You have done an absolutely fantastic job. You thoroughly deserve to be named LMA Manager of the Year 2019/2020. Your personality runs right through the whole of your club and the performance level of you and your team has been outstanding. LMA chairman Howard Wilkinson added, “We are delighted to be recognizing Jurgen’s achievements at the end of this extraordinary season.”

“The trophy has been presented to a man with an excellent track record. Who quite rightfully takes his place amongst the iconic previous award winners. Jurgen has lived up to his reputation as an exceptional coach in the game. He has created an outstanding team to secure Liverpool’s first top-flight triumph for 30 years,” also stated Sir Alex.

Leeds manager Marcelo Biesla was named the Championship manager of the year after guiding Leeds to first place.

Also Read : Adam Lallana heads to Brighton on a 3-year deal