New Zealand won the second ODI against Bangladesh in thrilling circumstances as it looked like the visitors were on top, having reduced the Black Caps to 53/3 in a chase of 272. However, a sparkling century from Tom Latham ensured New Zealand took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch.
For Bangladesh, it was Tamim Iqbal who provided them with a positive start in the first innings having been asked to bat first. Mohammad Mithun then applied the finish touches to take Bangladesh to a competitive 271/6. In reply, New Zealand appeared to be wobbling but Devon Conway and Latham put on an excellent partnership to ensure that their Asian opponents would not pick up a stunning win.
Kyle Jamieson’s catch triggers controversy
In the 15th over of Bangladesh’s innings while Tamim Iqbal was looking dangerous, the left-handed batsman drove a full delivery from Kyle Jamieson straight back at him. The lanky fast-bowler dived low and plucked a catch before roaring out in celebration. The New Zealanders swarmed the bowler in celebration but the umpires decided to send it up to the third umpire to have a look if he had caught it perfectly.
The soft-signal was ‘out’ and replays showed that Jamieson did not drop the ball on the ground at all. The third umpire however, deemed that the bowlers was not in control of the catch and decided to overturn the decision to ‘not out’ much to the New Zealander’s surprise. The reasoning behind the decision was that while Jamieson was picking up the ball, it had grazed the ground a bit. The incident caused quite a bit of controversy with various fans and cricketers giving their opinions on Twitter.