‘Like in tennis, It’s either In or Out’: Sachin Tendulkar asks ICC to consider Umpire’s call in LBW review

63

Former Indian Cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar has asked the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Saturday to consider the on-field umpire rule whenever a team opts for the DRS call.

“What % of the ball hits the stumps doesn’t matter, if DRS shows us that the ball is hitting the stumps, it should be given out, regardless of the on-field call,” Tendulkar tweeted with a video in which he was discussing with Lara on this topic.

“One thing I don’t agree with, with the ICC, is the DRS they have been using for quite some time. It is the LBW decision where more than 50 per cent of the ball must be hitting the stumps for the on-field decision to be overturned.” Tendulkar said in the video.

“The only reason they (the batsman or the bowler) have gone upstairs is that they are unhappy with the on-field decision, so when the decision goes to the third umpire, let the technology take over, just like in tennis, it’s either in or out, there’s nothing in between,” he further added.

Also Read Why Sachin never took strike on the first ball

Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh also tweeted in Tendulkar’s support. “Agree with you Paji 1000 percent correct. If the ball is touching the stump or kissing the Stumps it should be given out. It does not matter how much part of the ball hit the wicket..few rules should be changed in the game for the betterment of the game..this is certainly 1 of those,” Harbhajan tweeted.

ICC recently made some changes in which all the teams can have 3 reviews in every inning of a Test match.

Also Read Sachin Tendulkar was scared of Shoaib Akhtar: Shahid Afridi

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here