‘It’s been a while,’ Chase Elliott secures pole for Saturdays Cup Series Race at Martinsville speedway

Find out about Chase Elliott’s pole win at Martinsville and what he had to say about it

Chase Elliott

Chase Elliott, the 2020 Cup Series Champion, and the only Hendrick Motorsports driver left to win a race this season has secured the pole for Saturday’s Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 400 at Martinsville Speedway with a lap speed of  96.151 mph. He was able to convert his 4th place group qualifying round finish to a pole win on Friday.


The No. 9 driver will be accompanied by Aric Almirola who ended up the second-fastest with the fastest lap of 95.641 at the front on Sunday and Chase Elliott will be hoping to convert his 10th career pole to his first Next-Gen car race win.

“It honestly surprised me,” Chase Elliott on his Pole win at Martinsville

Chase Elliott

Chase Elliott acknowledged that he was surprised to hear that he got the pole from the team radio as he didn’t have a great lap time just a good one. He went on to say it is nice for him to secure the pole after a long time and thanked the efforts put in by his team crew chief Alan Gustafson. Chase Elliott went on to say that having the first pit stall for the final race will be a huge advantage on Saturday for him.


“When they (told me the time) I thought someone could get there to it. It honestly surprised me that it was that fast. I thought I had a good lap but not a great lap. It’s nice to grab a pole – it’s been a while. Super-proud of Alan (Gustafson, crew chief) and our team for continuing to push and come back this weekend strong. Hopefully, we can get the car right for tomorrow night,” Chase Elliott said

“The bigger thing than the starting spot itself is the pit selection and having that first pit stall. It’s a big deal and it lends itself to gaining you a lot of spots on pit road,” Chase Elliott added.

Find out where a Driver other than Chase Elliott finished in the qualifying


Cole Custer was third fastest at  Martinsville ahead of Chris Buescher and William Byron at successive positions. The rest of the top-10 starters in Saturday night’s race are Kevin Harvick, Christopher Bell, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, and Todd Gilliland.

A.J. Allmendinger and Cody Ware will start the race from the rear on Saturday.

Pole   Driver
1.     Chase Elliott (9)        
2.     Aric Almirola (10)       
3.     Cole Custer (41)       
4.     Chris Buescher (17)       
5.     William Byron (24)       
6.     Kevin Harvick (4)  
7.     Christopher Bell (20)        
8.     Kyle Larson (5)
9.     Brad Keselowski (6)          
10.   Todd Gilliland (38)         
11.   Kyle Busch(18)         
12.   Ryan Blaney (12)        
13.   Austin Cindric (2)
14.   Joey Logano (22)
15.   Alex Bowman (48)         
16.   Michael McDowell (34)        
17.   Justin Haley (31)        
18.   Kurt Busch (45)       
19.   Chase Briscoe (14)
20.   Martin Truex, (19)        
21.   Bubba Wallace (23)     
22.   Tyler Reddick (8)         
23.   Austin Dillon (3)        
24.   Erik Jones (43)       
25.   Denny Hamlin (11)      
26.   Corey LaJoie (7)        
27.   Ross Chastain (1)        
28.   Ricky Stenhouse, (47)      
29.   Harrison Burton (21)      
30.   Daniel Suarez (99)      
31.  Josh Bilicki (77)    
32.  J.J. Yeley (15)    
33.  B.J. McLeod (78)    
34.  Ty Dillon (42)   
35.  Cody Ware (51)    
36. A.J. Allmendinger (16)    
Credits: NASCAR

Also read: ‘We’ve gotten kicked in the teeth for the last five weeks,’ Bubba Wallace reflects on his disappointing 2022 season so far