On This Day: IPL Kicks Of In Style!


This day, 18th April 2008 marked the start of a worldwide popular tournament, which is now celebrated as a month and a half long festival in the country, came into limelight and cemented India’s stature as a powerhouse in the game of cricket.

Today, the first-ever match of IPL was played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders at The M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. In this match, Kiwi batsman Brendon McCullum played a brilliant knock of 158 and sealed a match one-sidedly.

RCB captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bowl first. Little did they knew that today, The blackcap batsman will be taking his bowlers to the cleaners.

Put in to bat, Both KKR openers Saurav Ganguly and Brendon McCullum gave a good start to their team and put a 61 run stand in just 5.2 overs then on the second ball of sixth over Ganguly (10) was sent back to the pavilion by Zaheer Khan. But Brendon was still on the crease and looked to continue the run feast.

Brendon spared no mercy on the opposition and smashed bowlers all around the park, he brought up his and first century of IPL in the 16th over of the innings and in the last four overs he smashed 56 runs. With the help of Brendon’s 158*, KKR posted a huge score of 223/3.

KKR then had no difficulty in defending the score as the side bundled out RCB for just 82 runs, winning the match by 140 runs. Ajit Agarkar was the pick of KKR bowlers as he returned with the figures of 3-25. This match gave a glorifying start to the competition as no one had known what the tournament had to offer before it started.

Here’s are the various FIRST’s in IPL.

First match: RCB v KKR, Bengaluru

First ball: Praveen Kumar to Sourav Ganguly;

First run: A Leg bye, by Sourav Ganguly;

First run of bat: A FOUR by Brendon McCullum, on the 8th ball;

First Six: Brendon McCullum, fourth ball of second over in first match;

First Win: KKR (against RCB)

First Tournament Win: Rajasthan Royals who managed to win the tournament.

Till date, 12 editions of IPLare played so far, with Mumbai Indians managing to win four IPL titles, Chennai Super Kings three titles and KKR with two titles.

This year’s tournament was scheduled to be held from 29 March but due to Coronavirus pandemic, it has been now indefinitely postponed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here