Perry, Stokes named Wisden’s ‘Cricketer of The Year 2019’


England’s Ben Stokes and Australia’s Ellyse Perry have been named the leading cricketers of 2019. Stokes became the first English cricketer to win the award since 2005, whereas Perry a star Australian all-rounder had also won this award previously in 2016.

Across 2019, Stokes made 821 test runs at an average of 45 & 719 ODI runs at almost 60. Strokes was also the winner of Wisden-MCC Photograph of the year as he scored the winning runs in the test match at Headingley against Australia.

On the other hand, Perry raised the notch higher by scoring the century in her only test and averaging 73 in the ODI’s she played.

Hard-hitting West-indies all-rounder Andre Russell was named T-20 leading cricketer of 2019. Last year in T-20 matches Russell scored 1,080 runs and took 46 wickets. Along with Perry five cricketers of the year Wisden named Pat Cummins, Marnus labuschagne, Jofra Archer and Simon Harmer.

Virat Kohli was also named the leading cricketer in the world for the past three years, while India’s Smriti Mandhana was the leading Woman cricketer in the world in 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here