Rafael Nadal and Roberto Bautista Agut to lead Spain at the ATP CUP 2021

After coming to the last stage of the competition last year, Rafael Nadal and Roberto Bautista Agut to lead Spain one more time at the second edition of the ATP Cup 2021.

WhatsApp Image 2021 01 01 at 8.06.33 PM - FirstSportz
Rafael Nadal

World No.2, Rafael Nadal and World No.13, Roberto Bautista Agut are set to lead the Spanish team at the ATP Cup next year, according to Spanish daily MARCA. They both are the highest-ranked Spanish athletes in tennis, one after the other.

In the inaugural edition of the ATP Cup this year, it was the same duo that led the Spanish team all the way to the final where they were facing Serbia, led by Serbian masterclass, Novak Djokovic.

The Spanish team were surging past every team at every stage of the 2020 ATP Cup. However, the Djokovic-led Serbia were too strong for Spain.

The leading pair of the Spanish team would be hoping to get their hands on the trophy in the next edition of the ATP Cup scheduled to be held a week before the 2021 Australian Open which begins on February 8th.

After a successful inaugural edition, the ATP Cup to held again next year

WhatsApp Image 2021 01 01 at 8.06.34 PM - FirstSportz
Rafael Nadal

The tragic 2020 season of tennis saw the inaugural edition of the ATP Cup held in January, which was a great success owing to which the second edition has been rolled out, starting from the 1st of February, lasting five days.

The inaugural edition last year, was held in three cities across Australia – Brisbane, Perth and Sydney.

Due to the COVID19 pandemic, Tennis Australia has decided to move the event to Melbourne. The players can thus remain in a secure bubble during their entire time in Australia.

The format of the ATP Cup has been also been modified for the 2021 edition. The 12 countries have been divided into four groups of three teams each, who will play a round-robin format. The winner of each group qualifies for the semifinal knockout stage, with two of them then advancing to the final.

The points and prize money details being awarded for the event are as follows:

Also Read: Andy Murray withdraws from ATP Delray Beach Open 2021 due to rise in Covid-19 cases

Nihar Khopkar often journals his thoughts which has helped him develop a keen interest in writing. He is highly driven by sports and is a graduate in Sports Management who currently covers tennis for FirstSportz. An ambivert, who is a die-hard lover of Cristiano Ronaldo & Rafa Nadal.