India vs England 2021: Twitter reacts as ICC rule on reviews costs Rishabh Pant a boundary after umpire’s wrong decision

Rishabh Pant was wrongly adjudged to be LBW while he had actually hit a ball for four off the bat.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant

India came up with a strong showing in the first innings of the second ODI against England as they rode on terrific knocks from KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant to get to 336/6. After getting off to a horror start by losing both openers cheaply, India revived their innings thanks to a partnership between skipper Virat Kohli and Rahul. After the skipper’s dismissal, the explosive partnership between the latter and Pant followed.

The two went all guns blazing and hit the English bowlers all around the park. They plundered runs at the death and supported by a Hardik Pandya cameo at the death, India got to a terrific score. Amidst all the good knocks, it was Pant’s knock that provided the impetus for a late flourish as he scored 77 runs of just 40 balls.

Umpiring decision featuring Rishabh Pant angers Twitter

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant

During his stay at the crease, Rishabh Pant was adjudged to be out twice and the batsman overturned the decision both times by going for the review. The first was an LBW decision and Pant had hit the ball with his bat. The second was a caught behind and in that instance, the ball had come off Pant’s elbow.

It was the first decision that came under scrutiny as the ball had run away for four off Pant’s bat. However, the umpire’s decision meant that the ball was deemed dead while he gave it out. Due to the wrong decision, Pant was thus, robbed off four runs. Here is the video of the incident:

This is how Twitter reacted to it:

Also Read: India vs England 2021: WATCH – Hardik Pandya and Sam Curran engage in a heated argument

Also Read: India vs England 2021: Twitter reacts as KL Rahul comes roaring back to form with a century