Sakhir Grand Prix new season opener, Australian GP postponed to November

Formula One has announced it's updated provisional schedule for the 2021 season, with Sakhir GP as the season opener.

Sakhir GP is the new season opener

Formula One has announced it’s updated calendar for the 2021 season. Sakhir Grand Prix in Bahrain will be the season opener, whereas the Australian GP has been postponed to a later date in November. The ongoing pandemic has made the organizers change their schedule owing to the travel and quarantine restrictions.

The season will commence a week later than scheduled, on March 26-28 and end on a new date of 10-12 December. As a result of the postponement, race dates in Brazil, Saudi Arabia and Abu Dhabi have all been delayed. The Chinese GP which was the third race of the season, has been postponed and no new date has been decided yet.

The new F1 calendar for 2021

One of the major changes in the schedule is the return of the Imola GP for the second successive season after it was included in the revised 17-race schedule in 2020.

The updated provisional schedule for the 2021 season is-

28 March – Bahrain (Sakhir)
18 April – Italy (Imola*)
2 May – TBC
9 May – Spain (Barcelona)
23 May – Monaco (Monaco)
6 June – Azerbaijan (Baku)
13 June – Canada (Montreal)
27 June – France (Le Castellet)
4 July – Austria (Spielberg)
18 July – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
1 August – Hungary (Budapest)
29 August – Belgium (Spa)
5 September – Netherlands (Zandvoort)
12 September – Italy (Monza)
26 September – Russia (Sochi)
3 October – Singapore (Singapore)
10 October – Japan (Suzuka)
24 October – USA (Austin)
31 October – Mexico (Mexico City)
7 November – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
21 November – Australia (Melbourne*)
5 December – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah**)
12 December – Abu Dhabi (Yas Island)

Also Read: “Every driver would love to race for Ferrari at some point,” Jenson Button reveals that he almost signed for Ferrari in 2013


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here