Sandeep Kumar, Priyanka Goswami and Rahul qualify for Tokyo Olympics 2020

Sandeep Kumar, Rahul and Priyanka Goswami have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics 2021 after they fulfilled the qualification standards at the National Race Walking Championships in Ranchi on Saturday.

Priyanka Goswami (left) and Sandeep Kumar (right).

Adding to the quota for Tokyo Olympics, Sandeep Kumar and Priyanka Goswami have qualified for the games. They will accompany KT Irfan and Bhavana Jat, who had earlier qualified for the men and women’s 20km race respectively.

Sandeep Kumar qualified for Tokyo Olympics in men’s 20km race walk as he set a new national record of 1:20:16 at the 8th National Race Walking Championship. He will be joined by another Indian walker, Rahul who walked a time of 1:20:26.

Priyanka Goswami breaks national record as she book her ticket to Tokyo

In women’s 20km racewalk, Priyanka Goswami also created a national record and qualified for Tokyo Olympics with the timing of 1:28:45. Last year, Bhavana Jat also qualified with a national record at the same event.

All three of them have also qualified for the 2022 World Athletics Championships.

Also read: Mary Kom, Manish Kaushik and Olympic-bound boxers to make competitive return at the Boxam Meet in Spain


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here