Shooting Nationals: Results and Analysis of Women’s Rifle and Pistol events

Manu’s qualification score of 588 was in fact more than the current World Record of 587

10m AP Women

Manu Bhaker won the Gold in both the senior and junior events, dominating in both the finals and the qualifications of the senior event after shooting 243 and 588 respectively. The Silver was won by another youngster Devanshi Dhama and Bronze was won by Olympic quota winner Yashaswini Singh Deswal. Manu’s qualification score of 588 was in fact more than the current World Record of 587. The next highest in the qualifications was 577 by Yashaswini. The cut off for the finals was just 570.

These results show that the depth in Women’s 10m AP is perhaps less than the Men’s event. Manu and Yashaswini are a cut above the rest and both will likely make it to the Olympics.
However other youngsters like Devanshi and Rhythm Sangwan (who won the Gold in the youth event) have got a chance in the limelight. Esha Singh who did so well in the Asian Championships finished a lowly 43rd after shooting 563. All the young shooters will do well to learn consistency from Manu.

Also Read: Shooting Nationals: Results and Analysis Of All Completed Events

50m 3P Women

Anjum Moudgil won her 3rd straight Nationals Gold in this event. She topped the qualifications with a score of 1172 and shot 449 in the finals. Like Manu in AP, she clearly dominated in both finals and qualifications. Silver was won by Gaayathri N and Bronze by Nischal (who won Gold in the junior event). The 8th place shooter shot 1160.

The veteran Tejaswini Sawant who has won the Olympic quota could only finish 23rd after shooting 1150. The Olympic berth will likely go to Anjum after this, at least for the 50m 3P event. Whether Tejaswini can keep her place in the Olympic squad remains to be seen.

50m Rifle Prone

This is a non-Olympic event, with only the qualification stage and no finals. Bandhvi Singh won the Gold with a score of 620. Nischal won Silver with 618.5 and Anjum Moudgil won Bronze with 618.2. Tejaswini Sawant, who became the World Champion in this event in 2010, finished 15th with 614.8.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here