India vs Australia: Team India announces its Playing XI for the third Test in Sydney

Indian Team squad announced for the Third Test Match of the Border-Gavaskar trophy in Sydney. Navdeep Saini will make his debut.

WhatsApp Image 2021 01 03 at 4.39.27 PM 1 - FirstSportz
Team India celebrates after taking a wicket.

Team India announced its playing squad for the third Test match in Sydney.

Indian Playing XI for the Third Test:

Rohit Sharma (VC)
Shubman Gill
Cheteshwar Pujara
Ajinkya Rahane (C)
Hanuman Vihari
Ravindra Jadeja
Rishabh Pant
Ravichandran Ashwin
Navdeep Saini
Jasprit Bumrah
Mohammad Siraj

Twitter flooded with wishes as Navdeep Saini is to make his debut appearance for Team India in Test. 

Things that went as expected: Rohit Sharma replaced Mayank Agarwal as the former struggled with the bat in the two-Test matches that he featured in.

Things that came as a surprise: The debut call for Navdeep Saini, the 299th Indian Test Cricketer.

As per buzz earlier, T Natrajan, who made a debut in the ODI and T20 series against Australia, was in talks to debut in the third Test in Sydney as a replacement to the injured Umesh Yadav. But because Sydney has something different to offer in its pitch, India had to make a different bowling choice.

Sydney turf requires a bit more pace and Navdeep Saini has that. In fact, his biggest assets are bounce and extra pace, which might come handy in the third Test that begins tomorrow.

As the series stands levelled 1-1, both Indian and Australian team will put forth their best in the third Test match of Border-Gavaskar trophy. 

Also read: India vs Australia: ‘Even if it’s in Mumbai, we will get on a plane and play’ – Tim Paine’s Australia ready for any change in schedule by ‘powerful’ India