Home Tennis

Rogers Cup 2021: Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Streaming for Canada Masters

Grigor Dimitrov and Reilly Opelka will clash against each other for the first time in the round of 32 at the 2021 Rogers Cup in Canada.

Reilly Opelka vs Grigor Dimitrov

World number 21, Grigor Dimitrov will take on World number 32, Reilly Opelka in the round of 32 at the Rogers Cup on August 10th, 2021.

Match Details: Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka

  • Tournament: ATP 1000 Rogers Cup
  • Match: Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka
  • Round: Round of 32
  • Date: August 10th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $27,700
  • Venue: Toronto, Canada
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka: Preview

Grigor Dimitrov

Grigor Dimitrov broke into the top 3 in November 2017 after winning the ATP Finals and has won 8 ATP Tour titles. However, the past few years Dimitrov has struggled with his form and suffered from back and shoulder injuries putting him out of the top 20 rankings. Dimitrov was last seen on the tour in Washington where he was the number 4 seed, however, he lost in his first match, the round of 32 against Ilya Ivashka in straight sets, 2-6, 6-7 (4-7). Dimitrov last played in Canada where he lost in the round of 64 against Stan Wawrinka, 4-6, 4-6. This year round, Dimitrov is seeded number 14 and thus, got a bye in the round of 64 and will be playing his first match against Opelka.

Reilly Opelka is yet to break into the top 30 with a career high ranking of 31 which he achieved in 2019. Opelka has won two ATP Tour titles, the first in 2019 at the New York Open and his second in 2020 at the Delray Beach Open. Opelka also last participated in Washington where he was the number 8 seed where he reached the round of 16 where he eventually lost to number 11 seed, John Millman, 3-6, 6-7 (4-7). At Canada, Opelka was drawn against Australia’s Nick Kyrgios in the round of 64. Opelka got the better off Kyrgios to take the win in three sets, 4-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-4.

Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka: Head to Head

Reilly Opelka

This will be the first meeting between the duo as they are yet to play against each other on the ATP Tour. Thus, their head to head tie is 0-0.

Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka: Prediction

Grigor Dimitrov

Opelka has not had his best year on the tour with a 10-14 win-loss record across all surfaces and 4-8 on hard court. On the other hand, Dimitrov has a 12-11 record and 8-5 record on hard court. Dimitrov has proved his dominance on hard court by reaching the quarter finals at the Australian Open earlier this year and has won 6 out of his 8 ATP titles on this surface. However, Opelka has also won both his titles on hard court and thus, this match will be very interesting.

Match Prediction: Dimitrov to take the win in three sets.

Grigor Dimitrov vs Reilly Opelka: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 9:20 am (August 11th)
  • Delhi: 5:50 am (August 11th)
  • New York: 8:20 pm
  • Melbourne: 10:20 am (August 11th)
  • Brazil: 9:20 pm

Official Broadcasters:

COUNTRYOFFICIAL BROADCASTER
GermanySky Deutschland
Europe(All territories)Eurosport
USAESPN, Tennis Channel
CanadaRoger SportsNet
Latin-AmericaESPN
FranceEurosport
North Africa and Middle EastBein Sports
Sub-Saharan AfricaSuperSport, Canal+
IndiaEurosport
ChinaIqiyi
South East AsiaFox Sports
JapanWOWOW
AustraliaESPN International
NetherlandsFox Sports
South KoreaEclat

Also read: Rogers Cup 2021: Rafael Nadal vs Lloyd Harris Preview, Head to Head, Prediction and Live Stream for Canada Masters