WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Madison Keys vs Shuai Zhang Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open

This will be the 7th meeting of the pair, with Shuai Zhang holding a 4-2 head-to-head record over Madison Keys.

Madison Keys vs Shuai Zhang
Madison Keys vs Shuai Zhang

World number 26, Madison Keys will be up against World number 51, Shuai Zhang in the round of 16 of the San Jose Open on August 4th, 2021.

Match Details: Madison Keys vs Zhang Shuai

  • Tournament: Silicon Valley Classic 2021
  • Match: Madison Keys vs Shuai Zhang
  • Round: Round of 16
  • Date: August 4th, 2021
  • Prize Money: $10,670
  • Venue: San Jose, California, USA
  • Surface: Outdoor Hard Court

Madison Keys vs Zhang Shuai: Preview

Madison Keys
Madison Keys

Madison Keys reached a career high ranking of 7 in 2016 and has won 5 WTA Tour titles throughout her career. Keys opted out from playing at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and thus, was last seen at Wimbledon where she lost in the round of 16. Keys last played at the Silicon Valley Classic in 2017 where she won the title after defeating Coco Vandeweghe in the finals in straight sets, 7-6, 6-4. Keys had to withdraw from the tournament in 2018 due to injury and thus, was not able to defend her title. She is seeded number 3 in the tournament this time and will be hoping to become the champion again. She got a wildcard in the round of 32 and thus, will play her first match in the round of 16.

Shuai Zhang reached a career high ranking of 23 in 2016 and has won 2 WTA Tour titles with her first title being won in 2013. Zhang was last seen at the Palermo Ladies Open in Italy where she lost in the semi-finals against number 1 seed, Danielle Collins. Zhang last played at San Jose in 2019 where she lost in her first match, the round of 32, against number 8 seed, Danielle Collins in three sets, 4-6, 7-5, 2-6. In the 2021 Open, she has already made a better impression by reaching the round of 16. In the round of 32, Zhang dominated on the court and beat wildcard, Emma Raducanu in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2.  

Madison Keys vs Zhang Shuai: Head to Head

Zhang Shuai
Zhang Shuai

This will be the 7th meeting between the duo who last met at Roland Garros in 2020 where Zhang took the win in straight sets, 6-3, 7-6 (7-2). Zhang currently leads their head to head tie, 4-2.

Madison Keys vs Zhang Shuai: Prediction

Madison Keys
Madison Keys

Zhang has not had the best year on the tour with a win-loss record of 10-14 this year. While, Keys has a record of 10-9. Keys has an impressive 60% win record on hard court with a 2-3 record on hard court for this year. Keys will also be very motivated to win the title again. However, Zhang will come in with a lot of confidence having won the last three matches between the pair and leading their head to head tie.

Match Prediction: Keys to win in three sets.

Madison Keys vs Zhang Shuai: Live Streaming and Where to Watch

Match Timings:

  • Japan: 11:00 am (August 5th)
  • Delhi: 7:30 am (August 5th)
  • New York: 10:00 pm
  • Melbourne: 12:00 pm (August 5th)
  • Brazil: 11:00 pm

Official Broadcasters:

The Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic is broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streamed on Tennis Channel Plus. It will also be televised by ESPN.

WTA Silicon Valley Classic 2021: Alison Riske vs Ana Konjuh Preview, Head to head, Prediction and Live Stream for San Jose Open